Lucier, Alvin - No Ideas but in Things (DVD)

Lägg till önskelista + 239 kr - Ej i lager

“Don’t ask me what I mean, ask me what I’ve made.” (Alvin Lucier)

The American Alvin Lucier is one of the most significant composers of New Music in the twentieth century. Being one of the first representatives of live electronic music, he explored in his works the nature and the effect of sound phenomena such as resonances, echoes and interferences, with the boundaries between installation, performance, composition and science becoming blurred.

In the present documentary film by Viola Rusche and Hauke Harder, Lucier is shown on concert trips to The Hague and Zug (Switzerland). Starting with performances of early live electronic works of the 1960s and 1970s and ending with the world premiere of the most recent ensemble piece “Panorama 2” (2011), the composer examines and comments on his work, granting insight into the beginnings of his pioneering work: his days as founding member of the group of composers “Sonic Arts Union” (1966–76), his relationship with John Cage and David Tudor, as well as his work at the Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut, where he has been teaching since 1970. One of Lucier’s key works, “I Am Sitting in a Room” (1970) is introduced as a central structuring device in the film.

Language: German
Sound format: Stereo?
Disk type: DVD 9?
Country code: NTSC ; (0) PAL
Lenght: ca. 97 min
Artikelnummer MV8095
Streckkod 4010228080957
Utgivningsdatum 2013-10-11
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Wergo
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Lucier, Alvin
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om No Ideas but in Things (DVD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Stockhausen, Karlheinz - Strahlen (DVD) - Hudacsek, Laszlo
239 kr
Birdcage: 73'20.958'' for a Composer (DVD) - Cage, John
279 kr
Orff, Carl - Gisei (DVD) - Trinks, Constantin
239 kr
Vogel, Peter - Peter Vogel – The Sound of Shadows (DVD)
Maulwerke (DVD) - Schnebel, Dieter MV8045 2011-11-02 239 kr
Orff, Carl - Antigonae (DVD) - Blunier, Stefan MV8555 2011-05-02 279 kr
Orff, Carl - Oedipus the Tyrant (DVD) - Blunier, Stefan MV8545 2011-04-01 279 kr
Orff, Carl - The Bernauer Woman (DVD) - Mast, Mark MV8535 2009-11-02 279 kr
In the Moment: A Portrait (DVD) - Rihm, Wolfgang MV8035 2006-01-23 239 kr
Lucier, Alvin - Nothing is Real - Kaul, Matthias (percussion) WER66602 2003-11-01 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar