Walton, William - Piano Quartet; Violin Sonata; Toccata for Violin & Piano - Jones, Matthew

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
These four works represent all of Sir William Walton’s chamber music involving both violin and piano, as well as being a microcosm of his compositional output between 1918 and 1950. They offer a fascinating glimpse of Walton’s stylistic journey, from the youthful exuberance of the early Piano Quartet and the Toccata to the unconventional but masterful Violin Sonata, and the Two Pieces with their connection to his music for films. Matthew Jones and Annabel Thwaite’s recording of works by Benjamin Britten (Naxos 8.573136) was summed up as ‘superb’ by BBC Music Magazine. Many of the works in this programme are not unfamiliar on recordings, but this is the first single-disc release to include all of the composer’s chamber works involving both violin and piano. The presence of the often overlooked Toccata is unusual, and shows a dimension of Walton’s music that is rarely given mention. The album is the result of a Guildhall School research project entitled ‘Walton: his voice through the violin’, inspired by violinist Matthew Jones’s lifelong love of Walton’s music.
Artikelnummer 8573892
Streckkod 0747313389278
Utgivningsdatum 2020-11-27
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Jones, Matthew
Bradley, Sarah-Jane
Lowe, Tim
Thwaite, Annabel
Kompositörer Walton, William
Disk: 1
1 Piano Quartet: I. Allegramente
2 Piano Quartet: II. Allegro scherzando
3 Piano Quartet: III. Andante tranquillo
4 Piano Quartet: IV. Allegro molto
5 Toccata for Violin and Piano
6 2 Pieces for Violin and Piano: No. 1. Canzonetta
7 2 Pieces for Violin and Piano: No. 2. Scherzetto
8 Violin Sonata: I. Allegro tranquillo
9 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Tema: Andante
10 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 1: A temp
11 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 2: A temp
12 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 3: Alla m
13 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 4: Allegr
14 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 5: Allegr
15 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 6: Scherz
16 Violin Sonata: II. Variazioni: Variation 7: Andant
17 Violin Sonata: Coda: Molto vivace - Presto
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Piano Quartet; Violin Sonata; Toccata for Violin & Piano, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


239 kr
Wagner, Richard - Siegfried (4 CD) - Zagrosek, Lothar (conductor)
119 kr
Liszt, Franz - Symphonic Poems Vol 4: Hungaria / Héroïde funèbre / Le Troimphe funèbre de Tasse - Halász, Michael (conductor)
119 kr
Tabakov, Emil - Piano Concerto / Concerto for Two Flutes - Gallois, Patrick (flute)
119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Boris - Symphony No. 1 / The Murming Forest / After the Ball
Walton, William - Belshazzar's Feast - Daniel, Paul (conductor) 8555869 2004-06-01 119 kr
Walton, William - Piano Quartet / String Quartet - Maggini Quartet 8554646 2000-03-13 119 kr
Walton, William - Violin Concerto / Cello Concerto - Kang, Dong-Suk (violin) 8554325 1999-08-16 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Walton, William - Spitfire Prelude & Fugue - English Northern Philharmonia 8553869 1999-03-15 119 kr
Walton, William - Hamlet / As You Like It - Penny, Andrew (conductor) 8553344 1999-02-27 24 kr (79 kr)
Walton, William - Symphony No. 1 / Partita - English Northern Philharmonia 8553180 1997-10-13 119 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar