Gershwin, George - Porgy & Bess (Highlights) - The Philadelphia Orchestra

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The Philadelphia Orchestra and conductor Marin Alsop present a live recording with highlights of Gershwin’s self-proclaimed American “Folk Opera” Porgy and Bess, together with a stellar cast and the Morgan State University Choir. Since its premiere in 1935, Porgy and Bess has been one of the most significant attempts to – following Antonin Dvorák’s famous instruction of 1893 – create American classical music inspired by Afro-American styles such as jazz, spirituals and the blues. It has also proven to be a powerful catalyst for bringing more diverse casts to the opera stage. The hard-knock life at a Charleston waterfront tenement is presented here by an outstanding cast including Lester Lynch (Porgy), Angel Blue (Bess, Clara and Serena), Chauncey Packer (Sportin’ Life) and Kevin Short (Crown, Jake). Marin Alsop is one of today’s most acclaimed conductors, and the first woman to serve as the head of a major orchestra in the United States, South America, Austria and Britain. The Philadelphia Orchestra is one of the world’s preeminent orchestras. Multi-award-winning soprano Angel Blue is one of the most promising voices of her generation, while Chauncey Packer is arguably one of the greatest and sought-after Sportin’ Life interpreters today. Lester Lynch and Kevin Short both enjoy a flourishing stage career, as well as a vast PENTATONE discography.
Artikelnummer PTC5186883
Streckkod 0827949088360
Utgivningsdatum 2021-07-09
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Pentatone
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister The Philadelphia Orchestra
Dirigenter Alsop, Marin
Kompositörer Gershwin, George
Disk: 1
Porgy and Bess
1 Act 1: Introduction
2 Act 1: Summertime
3 Act 1: A Woman Is a Sometime Thing
4 Act 1: Where Is Brudder Robbins? He’s a Gone, Gone
5 Act 1: Overflow
6 Act 1: My Man’s Gone Now
7 Act 2: I Got Plenty o’ Nuttin’
8 Act 2: Lo’ Bess, Goin’ to Picnic?
9 Act 2: Bess, You Is My Woman Now
10 Act 2: Oh, I Can’t Sit Down
11 Act 2: Porgy, I Hates to Go
12 Act 2: It Ain’t Necessarily So
13 Act 2: Hear What I Tell You
14 Act 2: What You Want wid Bess?
15 Act 2: Now de Time, oh Gawd — I Loves You, Porgy
16 Act 3: Andantino dolente
17 Act 3: Clara, Clara — Jesus Is Walkin’ on de Water
18 Act 3: Cheer Up, Sistuh
19 Act 3: There’s a Boat dat’s Leavin’ Soon for New Y
20 Act 3: You Low Crawlin’ Hound!
21 Act 3: Thank Gawd I’s Home Again!
22 Act 3: Oh Lawd, I’m on My Way
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Porgy & Bess (Highlights), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


189 kr
Ravel, Maurice - Piano Concertos - Kozhukhin, Denis
189 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Music of the Americas
189 kr
Gershwin, George - Fascinating George Gershwin
119 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 4 - Alsop, Marin (conductor)
Gershwin, George - Piano Concerto in F/Rhapsody in Blue - Nakamatsu, Jon (piano) HMU807441 2007-04-30 159 kr
Orff, Carl - Carmina Burana - Alsop, Marin (conductor) 8570033 2007-03-21 119 kr
Gershwin, George - Complete Piano Works - Achatz, Dag BIS404 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Barber, Samuel - Knoxville: Summer of 1915 / Essays for Orchestra Nos. 2 & 3 - Alsop, Marin (conductor) 8559134 2004-06-01 119 kr
Barber, Samuel - Orchestral Works Vol 1: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 - Royal Scottish National Orchestra 8559024 2000-05-03 119 kr
Gershwin, George - Rhapsody in Blue 8550295 1990-07-01 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar