Robert Saxton - Portrait - Williams, Roderick

Lägg till önskelista + 159 kr - Ej i lager

These works by Robert Saxton were written between 2013 and 2019 and represent his continuing journey of exploration in modal and harmonic structures; complex in structure but creating no jarring modernist difficulty for the listener. A mix of orchestral, chamber and vocal works, it features top performers including world-renowned baritone Roderick Williams and equally famous (and now film star) Clare Hammond. Robert Saxton received early guidance from Benjamin Britten and studied with Elisabeth Lutyens, Robin Holloway and Luciano Berio among others. He has received commissions from the BBC (TV, radio and Proms) and many prominent ensembles. Until retiring in 2021 Robert was Professor of Composition at Oxford University and is a Research Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music. Time and the Seasons, for baritone and piano, commissioned by the Oxford Lieder Festival for Roderick Williams and Andrew West, is a song cycle to Saxton’s own texts and is both cyclic and progressive. Suite for violin and piano, first performed at the 2019 Three Choirs Festival by Madeleine Mitchell and Clare Hammond, the performers here, charts a voyage across its five movements leading to a tentatively positive conclusion. Fantasy Pieces, commissioned by the Fidelio Trio, is inspired by Schumann’s Op. 88 as character pieces, regarding both genre and variety of manner. A Hymn to the Thames for solo oboe and chamber orchestra was commissioned by James Turnbull, the St Paul’s Sinfonia and its Music Director Andrew Morley and, during the course of its four linked movements, sets the soloist as both wanderer and river spirit in conjunction with the ‘river’ of the orchestra from source to sea.
Artikelnummer MSV28624
Streckkod 0809730862427
Utgivningsdatum 2022-09-09
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Metier
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Williams, Roderick
Turnbull, James
Mitchell, Madeleine
Dirigenter Morley, Andrew
Kompositörer Robert Saxton
Disk: 1
A Hymn to the Thames
1 I.
2 Ii.
3 Iii.
4 Iv.
5 I.
6 Ii.
7 Iii.
8 Iv.
9 V.
10 Vi.
11 I. Winter, still Winter
12 Ii. Spring
13 Iii. Time's Ellipse
14 Iv. Summer Seascape
15 V. Summer Psalm
16 Vi. Autumn
17 Vii. The Beach in Winter: Scratby (for Tess)
18 I. Awakening
19 Ii. Horizon
20 Iii. Jacob and the Angel
21 Iv. Bells of Memory
22 V. Quest
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Portrait, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Elgar, Edward - Falstaff; Orchestral Songs; Grania and Diarmid - Davis, Andrew
169 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Sinfonia Antartica; Concerto for Two Piano and Orchestra; Four Last Songs - Davis, Andrew
159 kr
Miyachi, Fumiko - Transitional Metal - Miyachi, Fumiko
159 kr
Keeley, Rob - Twists and Turns
Roe, Betty - The Silver Hound and other songs by Betty Roe - Leonard, Sarah (soprano) MSV28566 2017-08-18 159 kr
Ghost Dialogues: New Music for Trumpet - Gekker, Chris - Various MSV28572 2017-08-18 159 kr
Vale: New Music for Flute - Craig, Richard - Various MSV28540 2017-08-18 159 kr
Fidelio Trio (The) - Dancing in Daylight MSV28556 2016-03-11 159 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 / Nocturne - Hickox, Richard CHSA5016 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - SYMPHONY Nos 6 & 8 / NOCTURNE - Hickox, Richard CHAN10103 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar