Portraits — Works for Flute, Clarinet & Piano - McGill/McHale Trio - Various

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The McGill/McHale Trio, an international all-star ensemble of flute, clarinet, and piano, makes its recording debut with Portraits, featuring world-premiere recordings of new compositions and arrangements for this captivating combination of instruments. Trio flutist Demarre McGill, a Chicago native, has served as principal flute of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and the Dallas, Seattle, and San Diego Symphony Orchestras. His brother, Anthony McGill, is principal clarinet of the New York Philharmonic and former principal of the Met Orchestra. Michael McHale, one of Ireland’s leading pianists, has performed as soloist with the Minnesota, Halle, Moscow Symphony, and Bournemouth Symphony Orchestras and all five of Ireland’s major orchestras. The “title track,” Valerie Coleman’s Portraits of Langston is a six-movement suite inspired by Langston Hughes’s poetry. Oscar-winning actor Mahershala Ali (Moonlight) reads a Hughes poem before each movement. Chris Rogerson’s A Fish Will Rise evokes rippling water and sparkling sunlight. Pianist McHale’s arrangement of Rachmaninov’s Vocalise splits the original vocal line between flute and clarinet, supported by Rachmaninov’s original piano accompaniment. Paul Schoenfield’s spirited Sonatina for Flute, Clarinet and Piano springs surprises on the Charleston, rag, and jig dance forms. Philip Hammond’s The Lamentation of Owen O’Neil and McHale’s arrangement of The Lark in Clear Air are serenely beautiful treatments of irresistible Irish folk tunes. Guillaume Connesson’s Techno-Parade channels the spirit and energy of electronic pop. Coleman’s Portraits of Langston and Schoenfield’s Sonatina receive their World-Premiere Recordings. These trio versions of Rachmaninov’s Vocalise, Hammond’s The Lamentation of Owen O’Neil and The Lark in Clear Air are also world premieres on record. Formed in 2014, the McGill/McHale Trio has won critical acclaim for concerts in New York, Philadelphia, and Washington DC, among other cities. The Philadelphia Inquirer proclaimed, “They can play off each other with hair-trigger precision, their blends are … amazing, creating a hybrid sonority I don’t think I’ve previously heard.”
Artikelnummer CDR0000172
Streckkod 0735131917223
Utgivningsdatum 2017-08-18
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Cedille
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister McGill/McHale Trio
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
1 A Fish Will Rise
2 Helen Keller (reading)
3 i. Prelude: Helen Keller
4 Danse Africaine (reading)
5 ii. Danse Africaine
6 Le Grand Duc Mambo (reading)
7 iii. Le Grand Duc Mambo
8 In Time of Silver Rain (reading)
9 iv. Silver Rain
10 Jazz Band in a Parisian Cabaret (reading)
11 v. Jazz Band in a Parisian Cabaret
12 Summer Night (reading)
13 vi. Harlem’s Summer Night
14 Techno – Parade
15 Vocalise
16 i. Charleston
17 ii. Hunter Rag
18 iii. Jig
19 The Lamentation of Owen O’Neil
20 The Lark in the Clear Air
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Portraits — Works for Flute, Clarinet & Piano, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
McGill, Anthony - Winged Creatures - Various
159 kr
Twentieth Century Oboe Sonatas - Klein, Alex - Various
159 kr
Project W – Works by Diverse Women Composers - Chicago Sinfonietta - Various
159 kr
Lipman, Matthew - Ascent - Various
Sisters in Song - Cabell, Nicole - Various CDR90000181 2018-09-21 159 kr
Hampson, Thomas - Songs from Chicago - Various CDR90000180 2018-09-07 159 kr
Alla Zingarese - - Various CDR90000179 2018-08-17 159 kr
Notorious RBG in Song - Michaels, Patrice - Various CDR90000178 2018-06-08 159 kr
Third Coast Percussion - Paddle to the Sea - Various CDR90000175 2018-02-09 159 kr
Various - Excelsior - Fifth House Ensemble CDR90000148 2014-09-24 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar