Debussy, Claude - Préludes & Children's Corner - Jumppanen, Paavali

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
After the five-volume complete recording of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas Paavali Jumppanen’s new recording on Ondine turns attention to Claude Debussy’s (1862–1918) piano works. This 2 CD set includes complete Préludes together with the Children’s Corner.

Debussy’s oeuvre has been explored both by the amateur pianist and the most legendary virtuosos of the keyboard. Throughout his career Debussy sought new ways to express his musical vistas. He began numerous large compositional projects and between these big ventures wrote miniatures such as songs and piano pieces. Fine examples of these are the Préludes and the Children’s Corner.

Debussy’s 24 piano preludes were published in two sets in 1910 and 1913. These miniatures are varied in character and style, and include, among others, references to literature, poetry, nature, the Mediterranean landscape and the events in Paris during Debussy’s lifetime. This work resulted in the creation of such enigmatic pieces as La cathédrale engloutie, La fille aux cheveux de lin and Des pas sur la neige, to name but a few.

The six pieces forming the cycle Children’s Corner (1908) evoke adult recollections of childhood. The set bears a dedication to Debussy’s daughter Chouchou and includes some of Debussy’s most well-known piano pieces, including The Snow is Dancing and Golliwogg’s cake walk.

A dedicated performer of French music, Paavali Jumppanen often performs the large cycles of Debussy’s late period, namely the Préludes and the Études. About a Debussy recital, The Boston Globe reported how “Jumppanen maximized piano’s deeply resonant qualities—not just to create beautiful sound but to point up how radical Debussy’s harmonic language was.” Another critic ( noted: ”I was bowled over by Mr. Jumppanen’s performance. - - As for his upcoming recording of the complete Debussy Preludes, sight-unseen, I would urge any collector to grab it: if it is anything like the Etudes we heard last Sunday, we are in for a treat!” New York Arts continued: “Magnificent recital. - - I cannot imagine a more penetrating, subtle, and beautiful traversal of Debussy’s final statement for the piano.”

Paavali Jumppanen’s blog can be followed at:
Artikelnummer ODE13042
Streckkod 0761195130421
Utgivningsdatum 2018-01-12
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Ondine
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Jumppanen, Paavali
Kompositörer Debussy, Claude
Disk: 1
1 Preludes, Book I: I. Danseuses de Delphes
2 Preludes, Book I: II. Voiles
3 Preludes, Book I: III. Le vent dans la plaine
4 Preludes, Book I: IV. “Les sons et les parfums tou
5 Preludes, Book I: V. Les collines d'Anacapri
6 Preludes, Book I: VI. Des pas dur la neige
7 Preludes, Book I: VII. Ce qu'a vu le vent d'Ouest
8 Preludes, Book I: VIII. La fille aux cheveux de li
9 Preludes, Book I: IX. La sérénade interrompue
10 Preludes, Book I: X. La Cathédrale engloutie
11 Preludes, Book I: XI. La danse de Puck
12 Preludes, Book I: XII. Minstrels
Disk: 2
1 Preludes, Book II: I. Brouillards
2 Preludes, Book II: II. Feuilles mortes
3 Preludes, Book II: III. La puerta del Vino
4 Preludes, Book II: IV. “Les fées sont d’exquises d
5 Preludes, Book II: V. Bruyères
6 Preludes, Book II: VI. “General Lavine” – eccentri
7 Preludes, Book II: VII. La terrasse des audiences
8 Preludes, Book II: VIII. Ondine
9 Preludes, Book II: IX. Hommage à Samuel Pickwick E
10 Preludes, Book II: X. Canope
11 Preludes, Book II: XI. Les tierces alternées
12 Preludes, Book II: XII. Feux d'artifice
13 Children's Corner: I. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum
14 Children's Corner: II. Jimbo's Lullaby
15 Children's Corner: III. Serenade of the Doll
16 Children's Corner: IV. The snow is dancing
17 Children's Corner: V. The little Shepherd
18 Children's Corner: VI. Golliwogg's cake walk
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Préludes & Children's Corner, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Absolute Sibelius - Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri
169 kr
Vasks, Peteris - Pater noster / Missa / Donna nobis pacem - Latvian Radio Choir
159 kr
Roussel, Albert - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4 - Orchestre de Paris
89 kr
Sibelius, Jean - A Five-star Sibelius celebration
Kaipainen, Jouni - Symphony No. 3 / Bassoon Concerto - Tampere Filharmonia ODE10892 2007-01-22 169 kr
Debussy, Claude - Works for Two Pianos - Achatz, Dag BIS526 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Debussy, Claude - Préludes Book 1; Images for piano - Nagai, Yukie (piano) BIS371 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Debussy, Claude - Préludes Book 2; Images Book 2 - Nagai, Yukie (piano) BIS405 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Salmenhaara, Erkki - Suomi-Finland / Le Bateau ivre / La Fille en mini-jupe - Tampere Filharmonia ODE10312 2004-05-01 169 kr
Debussy, Claude - Debussy - Images - Ogawa, Noriko BIS301105 2003-08-11 139 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar