Prom at the Palace

Lägg till önskelista + 239 kr - Utgången

All-time classical favourites from the first ever public concert held in the grounds of Buckingham Palace, hosted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Broadcast live on BBC Television, June 1st 2002.

Opera fans are in for a particular treat with Dame Kiri te Kanawa (singing Bizet and Gershwin), Sir Thomas Allen (Rossini and Sir Edward German), and Roberto Alagna and Angela Gheorghiu (Puccini and Verdi) sharing the honours. Maestro Mstislav Rostropovich also makes a rare guest appearance with the cello section of the London Symphony Orchestra playing Villa-Lobos. Artists include: Roberto Alagna, Angela Gheorghiu, Dame Kiri te Kanawa, Sir Thomas Allen, The London Adventist Chorale, Julian Bliss, Ashley Wass, Roberto Bolle, Zenaida Yanowsky, Mstislav Rostropovich with cello section LSO, BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Chorus, conducted by Sir Andrew Davis, featuring music by Walton, Handel, Bizet, Gershwin, Holst, Tchaikovsky, Rossini, German, Arnold, Mendelsohn, Puccini, Verdi, Elgar and Arne.

Special performances from the magnificent ballroom & the music room of Buckingham Palace.

"...some of the world's finest classical artists gave their all. ...The whole atmosphere even before the concert was great. It doesn't get better than this."

(The Mail on Sunday)

"This is a souvenir d'occasion of the first ever public concert held in the grounds of Buckingham Palace... Bob Coles's slick direction captures the spirit of the evening... undoubtedly gives us - the uninvited millions - a better view and sound mix than that which those present experienced. ...[an] unmissable turn was the astonishing 12-year-old clarinettist Julian Bliss in Messager's Solo de concours."

(BBC Music Magazine)

Awards & Accolades:
SPECIAL MENTION Golden Prague awards 2003:
The Jury commends the scale, ambition and superb execution of this large event which reached a huge global audience, in honour of the Queen's Golden Jubilee.

Artikelnummer OA0844
Streckkod 0809478000341
Utgivningsdatum 2002-07-01
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Opus Arte
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Prom at the Palace, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


239 kr
Prokofiev, Sergey - Symphony No. 5 - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor)
239 kr
Mozart/Schubert - Symphony No. 39/Symphony No. 2 - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor)
239 kr
Berlioz, Hector - Symphony Fantastique - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor)
239 kr
Bruckner, Anton - Symphony No. 9 - Celibidache, Sergiu (conductor)
Vivier, Claude - Rêves d’un Marco Polo - Leeuw, Reinbert de OA0943 2006-01-23 349 kr
Water Music - Handel, G F - Manze, Andrew OA0930 2005-10-03 239 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Symphony No. 3 (Eroica) - Gardiner, John Eliot (conductor) OA0908 2005-05-02 299 kr
Last Night of the Proms OA0851 2005-04-16 239 kr
Verdi, Giuseppe - TROVATORE - Cura, José (tenor) OA0848 2002-10-08 299 kr
Tavener, John - Fall & Resurrection OA0841 2002-10-07 239 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar