Zemlinsky, Alexander von - Ray of Light - Torquati, Emanuele (piano)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
A friend of Brahms and teacher of Schoenberg, Alexander Zemlinsky was a composer who straddled the divide of the 20th century, signalling the end of the Romantic period and the beginning of a marked upswing in experimentation. For the most part, however, the piano music on this disc is still firmly in the tradition of the great Romantic composers, composed as it was early on in his career. The Ländliche Tänze, or Rustic Dances, are a collection of light, pastoral dances, with nods to Schumann and Brahms. More melancholy and mournful are the Balladen (Ballades) and Erinnerungen aus Wien (Memory of Vienna), the latter referencing Wagner in its use of the Tristan chord; these are works filled with the emotion and sensitivity one would expect from the tail end of this dramatic period, hinting at the developments that were to mark the following century. The lack of attention Zemlinskys oeuvre has received until now is sadly not surprising; a combination of the composers own attitude to his works he was more interested in writing than selfpromotion his life coinciding with dramatic historical events and his cultivation of a certain modesty of style (making him averse to dramatic emphasis and sensational effects in his music) meant that for a long time his output remained neglected.Emanuele Torquati is an acclaimed pianist, having performed at various prestigious concert venues across the globe. His recital at Columbia University in the USA garnered critical acclaim, with the New York Times praising him as a thoughtful and insightful musician, noting his sensitivity and skill at conveying to the listener how he thinks and feels about the music. This release complements his previous recordings for Brilliant, which include Brahms and Schumann: his interpretation of Zemlinskys works rounds off this period of Romanticism perfectly.
Artikelnummer 95067
Streckkod 5028421950679
Utgivningsdatum 2014-11-19
Kategori Piano
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Torquati, Emanuele (piano)
Kompositörer Zemlinsky, Alexander von
Disk: 1
1 Nr. 1 Mit Wärme
2 Nr. 2 Flüchtig
3 Nr. 3 Träumerisch
4 Nr. 4 Sehr Schnell Und Leicht
5 Nr. 5 Hinträumend
6 Nr. 6 Energisch
7 Nr. 7 Sehr Zart
8 Nr. 8 Heiter
9 Nr. 9 Ländler-Tempo
10 Nr. 10 Gut Betont
11 Nr. 11 Sehr Sanft - Nr. 12 Sehr Lebhaft
12 Nr. 1 Archibald Douglas
13 Nr. 2 Der König Von Thule
14 Nr. 3 Der Wassermann
15 Nr. 4 Intermezzo
16 Albumblatt (Erinnerungen An Wien)
17 Skizze
18 Nr. 1 Stimme Des Abends
19 Nr. 2 Waldseligkeit
20 Nr. 3 Liebe
21 Nr. 4 Käferlied
22 Menuett
23 Ein Lichtstrahl
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Ray of Light, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


219 kr
Mozart, W A - 5CD-BOX: Complete Piano Sonatas - Oort, Bart van
529 kr
Clementi, Muzio - 18CD-BOX: Complete Piano Sonatas - Mastroprimiano, Costantino
119 kr
Hummel, J N - Piano Concertos, Vol. 1 - Commellato, Alessandro (piano)
129 kr
Scriabin, Alexander - Complete Piano Sonatas - Alexeev, Dmitri (piano)
Debussy, Claude - 12 Etudes - Vacatello, Mariangela 94371 2012-09-05 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Roussel, Albert - Complete Piano Music - Torquati, Emanuele (piano) 94329 2012-06-26 129 kr
Cage, John - 3CD-BOX: Music for Piano Vol. 4 - Simonacci, Giancarlo 9263 2012-06-05 149 kr
Debussy, Claude - 5CD-BOX: Complete Piano Music - Fergus-Thompson, Gordon 94415 2012-06-05 179 kr
Scarlatti, Domenico - 36CD-BOX: Complete Keyboard Sonatas - Belder, Pieter-Jan 93546 2012-06-05 669 kr
Zemlinsky, Alexander von - Piano Music - Avenhaus, Silke (piano) 8557331 2005-07-01 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar