Handel, G F - Royal Handel

Lägg till önskelista + 127 kr (159 kr) - Utgången

Sandrine Piau, Topi Lehtipu, Patricia Petibon, Robert Expert, Bernarda Fink, Maria Bayo, Lucy Crowe, Richard Croft, Karina Gauvin, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Deborah York, Sara Mingardo and others

Les Musiciens di Louvre-Grenoble / Marc Minkowski
Il Complesso Barocco / Alan Curtis
Concerto Italiano / Rinaldo Alessandrini
La Grande Ecurie du Roy / Jean-Claude Malgloire
Les Talens Lyriques / Christophe Rousset
Capriccio Stravangante / Skip Sempé
Concerto Köln, Accentus / Laurence Equilbey

'Zadok the priest and Nathan the prophet anointed Solomon King. And all the people rejoiced and said: God save the King! Long live the King! May the King live for ever! Alleluia! Amen.'

These words were sung by the combined choirs of the Chapel Royal and Westminster Abbey at the coronation of King George II of England on 11 October 1727. The impact of the first choral entry after a long instrumental introduction is so unforgettable that since then the anthem 'Zadok the Priest' has been sung at the Unction of each new British sovereign. The event thus marked a consecration of sorts for its composer, born Georg Friedrich Händel in 1685 at Halle in Saxony and transformed into George Frideric Handel, British subject, by Act of Parliament dated 20 February of that same year 1727. He was to enjoy his most lasting success with a work devoid of action and dramatic protagonists, which set out the very basis of Christian doctrine in words drawn entirely from the Bible: 'Messiah', given its first performance in Dublin in 1742.The grandeur and sublime simplicity of the 'Hallelujah Chorus' so moved King George II that he rose from his seat; ever since then, it has been the tradition in Britain for the audience to stand for this movement.

Handel's 'Largo' is now synonymous with Harrods' adverts, 'Zadok' has prefaced many a Royal or sporting ceremony and, most recently, millions watched the Royal Jubilee Pageant flotilla sail down the Thames to the 'Water Music' in an inglorious downpour.

Artikelnummer V5307
Streckkod 0822186053072
Utgivningsdatum 2012-09-05
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naïve
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Kompositörer Handel, G F
Disk: 1
1 Zadok The Priest Handel, G F
2 Io t'abbraccio
3 Flute Sonata in F Major
4 A Song for St Cecilia's day
5 Aria, Prophetic Raptures
6 As steals the morn upon the night
7 Great Victor at your feet
8 Aria, Fido specchio
9 Er war verschmähet und verachtet
10 From Harmony
Disk: 2
1 Great Sarabande
2 Aria, Lascia ch'io pianga
3 Alcina: Overture
4 Aria, M'ai resa infelice
5 Aria, Se la bellezza perde vaghezza
6 from Water Music
7 Streams of pleasure ever flowing
8 Aria, Da Tempeste
9 Aria, Crede l'uom ch'egli riposi
10 Aria, Brilla nell'alma un non inteso ancor
11 Messiah: Halleluja
12 from Water Music
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Royal Handel, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


287 kr (359 kr)
Handel, G F - Tamerlano - Il Pomo d'Oro
111 kr (139 kr)
Lemieux, Marie-Nicole (alto) - Naive 15 Years: Marie-Nicole Lemieux - Handel, G F
111 kr (139 kr)
Handel, G F - Niave 15 Years: Marc Minkowski - Minkowski, Marc
111 kr (139 kr)
Piau, Sandrine (soprano) - Naive 15 Years: Sandrine Piau - Handel, G F
Handel, G F - 6CD-BOX: Sacred Music V5312 2012-10-24 287 kr (359 kr)
Handel, G F - Water Music - Minkowski, Marc (conductor) V5234 2011-08-22 127 kr (159 kr)
Handel, G F - Great Saraband and other Classical Masterpieces, The V5106 2007-10-15 95 kr (119 kr)
Handel, G F - Opera Arias & Cantatas - Bayo, María (soprano) E8914 2007-04-30 119 kr (149 kr)
Handel, G F - Il trionfo del tempo e del disinganno (2 CD) - Concerto Italiano OPS30440 2007-04-30 239 kr (299 kr)
Handel, G F - Tobit (Oratorio)(2 CD) - Martini, Joachim Carlos (conductor) 8570113-14 2007-02-21 175 kr (219 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar