Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Secular Choruses - Popov, Victor

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
In the field of choral music Tchaikovsky is known as the first Russian composer to have composed cycles of the Liturgy and the Vespers, but his considerable output of secular choral music is less well-known, and a delightful surprise. These secular choruses are little jewels, written for various types of choir, with all the familiar qualities of melody and rich harmony that we associate with Tchaikovsky. Some, including Autumn, Child's Song and A Legend (from 16 Children's Songs Op.54), and the pastoral Dawn were written for solo voice or duet, and Night, a vocal quartet with piano, but Tchaikovsky soon realised that they sounded better as choruses. Autumn and Child's Song both have a tenor solo, and contrast well with each other: a misty autumnal poem of lethargic melancholy and a comical, playful little ditty. Another highlight is the melancholy Old French Air, with its timeless charm, which also appears as a minstrel's song in Tchaikovsky's opera The Maid of Orléans. Other works of note include the radiant Nature and Love, a sentimental trio for soprano, mezzo and contralto, three-part female chorus and piano, and the meditative nocturne Before Sleep, composed in his student years. Greeting to Anton Rubinstein is an extraordinary seven part piece written for the 50th anniversary of Rubinstein's career.

The Nightingale is without a doubt Tchaikovsky's finest achievement in choral music, a magnificent reconstruction of a folk song. The vocal quartet Night is a tribute to Mozart, who Tchaikovsky idolised, and is an arrangement of the middle section of Mozart's Fantasy in C minor for piano. The finale, Neapolitan Air, is a little choral divertissement whose tune was derived from Swan Lake.

About the performers:
The Moscow Academy of Choral Singing, directed by Victor Popov, specialises in performing Russian choral music.
Artikelnummer 94210
Streckkod 5028421942100
Utgivningsdatum 2011-05-03
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister The Moscow Academy of Choral Singing
Dirigenter Popov, Victor
Kompositörer Tchaikovsky, Pyotr
Disk: 1
1 Secular choruses: Evening 02:37 Tchaikovsky
2 Secular choruses: Autumn 03:39 Tchaikovsky
3 Secular choruses: Child’s Song 01:53 Tchaikovsky
4 Secular choruses: Blessed is he who smiles 02:08 Tchaikovsky
5 Secular choruses: Why does the sound of the revels 02:07 Tchaikovsky
6 Secular choruses: Much too soon in the season 02:26 Tchaikovsky
7 Secular choruses: Old French Air 02:25 Tchaikovsky
8 Secular choruses: Dawn 03:42 Tchaikovsky
9 Secular choruses: Nature and Love 05:50 Tchaikovsky
10 Secular choruses: Before sleep 04:00 Tchaikovsky
11 Secular choruses: A golden cloud slumbered 02:13 Tchaikovsky
12 Secular choruses: A greeting to Anton Rubinstein 02:40 Tchaikovsky
13 Secular choruses: The Nightingale 03:40 Tchaikovsky
14 Secular choruses: It is not the cuckoo 02:30 Tchaikovsky
15 Secular choruses: Night 04:10 Tchaikovsky
16 Secular choruses: Hymn to Cyril and Methodius 02:27 Tchaikovsky
17 Secular choruses: A Legend 02:31 Tchaikovsky
18 Secular choruses: Neapolitan Air (adaptation for c 02:11 Tchaikovsky
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Secular Choruses, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - The Seasons - Makropoulou, Sissi
119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Piano Trios - Würtz, Klára
119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Rococo Variations - Várdai, István (cello)
869 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - 55CD-BOX: Tchaikovsky Edition
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - 4CD-BOX: Complete Symphonies - Fedoseyev, Vladimir 94719 2014-01-22 169 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Complete Orchestral Suites - Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart 94372 2012-05-09 129 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - 7CD-BOX: Complete Symphonies - Fedoseyev, Vladimir / Rozhdestvensky, Gennady / Si 94307 2012-01-11 249 kr
Ej i lager
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 - Han, Derek / St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra 93313 2011-11-17 119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Liturgy of St John Chrysostom - National Academic Choir of Ukraine 'Dumka' 93954 2011-11-17 119 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Complete works for cello and orchestra - Rudin, Alexander (cello) 94188 2011-04-03 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar