Martinu / Piazzolla / Stravinsky - Shuffle, Play, Listen - Haimovitz, Matt/O' Riley, Christopher

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Matt Haimovitz, cello
Christopher O'Riley, piano

This is the fourth issue of the PENTATONE OXINGALE series. An out of the box double SACD album with works for cello and piano, performed by cellist Matt Haimovitz and pianist Christopher O'Riley, including a booklet containing an interview by way of liner notes. One of the discs contains classical music and the other contains pop music, arranged for cello and piano by Christopher O'Riley.

Which brings the interviewer in the booklet to the following question: "...continuing on this idea of polyvalence, like it or not, people and fans are going to be focusing on this aspect of it."

Matt Haimovitz: "Well, we've been discussing this for months, actually. When we're in concert we go between Stravinsky and Radiohead, and then John McLaughlin and then some Bach and Ravel. But for us it's part of the same trajectory, and it fits seamlessly and naturally in a program. For me, a classical listener will be interested in Radiohead or any of the tunes we're playing on the pop side. I think what we're doing has a sincerity to it. We're getting to the spirit of it. We're translating it in a very different way than the original, and I think they would appreciate that there are some complex things going on contrapuntally, harmonically and lyrically. There's a richness there."

Listen to this highly original album and discover the richness Matt Haimovitz is talking about.
Artikelnummer PTC5186546
Streckkod 0827949054662
Utgivningsdatum 2016-02-26
Kategori Cello
Skivbolag Pentatone
Enhet SACD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Haimovitz, Matt/O' Riley, Christopher
Kompositörer Martinu / Piazzolla / Stravinsky
Disk: 1
1 Vertigo Suite - Prelude Haimovitz, Matt O'Riley, Christopher Herrmann, Bernard
2 Pohádka Janácek, Leos
3 Vertigo Suite - The Nightmare Herrmann, Bernard
4 Variations on a Slovak Folksong Martinu, Bohuslav
5 Vertigo Suite - Carlotta's Portrait Herrmann, Bernard
6 Suite Italienne Stravinsky, Igor
7 Vertigo Suite - Scotty Trails Madeline Herrmann, Bernard
8 Le Grand Tango Piazzolla, Astor
9 Vertigo Suite - Scène d'amour Herrmann, Bernard
Disk: 2
1 Empty Room - Arcade Fire
2 Pyramid Song - Radiohead
3 Athol Brose - Cocteau Twins
4 The Dance of Maya - John McLaughlin
5 Misery is a Butterfly - Blonde Redhead
6 Weird Fishes / Arpeggi - Radiohead
7 Fotzepolitic - Cocteau Twins
8 Melody - Blonde Redhead
9 3 Libras - A Perfect Circle
10 Heaven or Las Vegas - Cocteau Twins
11 In the Backseat - Arcade Fi
12 A Lotus on Irish Streams - John McLaughlin
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Shuffle, Play, Listen, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


319 kr
Bach, J S - Cello Suites Nos. 1-6 - Haimovitz, Matt (cello)
299 kr
Haimovitz, Matt (cello) - Orbit - Music for Solo Cell
189 kr
Dvorák, Antonín / Lalo, Édouard - Cello Concertos - Moser, Johannes (cello)
319 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Period - Haimovitz, Matt/O' Riley, Christopher
Beethoven / Martinu - Rococo Cello Variations - Findlay, Jeremy (cello) PRD250293 2012-04-12 159 kr
Bach, J S - Cello Suites Nos. 1-6 - Tunnicliffe, Richard (cello) CKD396 2012-03-21 299 kr
Shostakovich, Dmitry - Cello Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 - Dindo, Enrico (cello) CHSA5093 2012-01-25 169 kr
Chaushian, Alexander (cello) - Russian Cello Sonatas BISSACD1858 2011-02-21 169 kr
Isserlis, Steven (cello) - reVisions BISSACD1782 2010-08-23 169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Cello Sonatas - Thedéen, Torleif (cello) BISSACD1606 2010-04-12 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar