Henriksson, Deborah - Simple Gifts

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Consider the words of the Shaker hymn, "Simple Gifts":
'tis a gift to be simple, 'tis a gift to be free 'tis a gift to come down where we ought to be. And when we find ourselves in the place just right it will be in the valley of love and delight. When true simplicity is gained to bow and to bend we won't be ashamed. To turn, turn, will be our delight, 'till by turning, turning, we come round right.

At first glance, the combination of folk songs and art songs on the same vocal program might seem odd, particularly when the folk songs are not dressed in art song accompaniment. A closer look at their similarities offers insight into why the combination works: both folk and art songs are compressed musical statements where the seeming simplicity of the texts and the music dares the listener to delve deeper into his/her own personal experience, into the heart and mind as well as the ear.

It is the very simplicity of the compressed form of these folk songs, spirituals, and art songs which makes them accessible, whatever the subject matter or artistic genre.

"Simple Gifts" combines different kinds of songs in order to come closer to universal experience, in order to move the listener. Musical expression using the human voice is as old and as varied as humanity. Thus the songs have been carefully chosen to express universal truths and experiences with which we can all identify: the common denominator being that life is a gift, that we are all on the same journey, and that personal truth can be found by looking and listening within.

DEBORAH HENRIKSSON is an American singer and music teacher who has lived and given concerts in Sweden for many years. She studied at the Göteborg College of Music and with Max Lundquist, Stockholm. Together with pianist Jan Bülow she has created two musical happenings, Art Sounds (Västerås Art Museum, 1998) and Room for Senses (Culturen, 2002), where works of art and music interplay. Her musical and cultural roots have always been important to her. The present CD is an expression of this focus.

Artikelnummer NOSAGCD143
Streckkod 7330560071435
Utgivningsdatum 2007-10-23
Kategori World Music
Skivbolag Nosag Records
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Henriksson, Deborah
Disk: 1
1 Sweet Little Jesus 02:34
2 Simple Gifts 02:00
3 Sometimes I Feel 02:41
4 Weepin' Mary 02:45
5 Three 01:10
6 Sleeping Song 01:39
7 A Little Closer, Please 01:25
8 They Cannot Stop Death 01:33
9 On A Quiet Conscience 01:32
10 Letter To Freddy 01:18
11 The Feathers Of The Willow 01:26
12 The Heart Grows Old 01:10
13 The Water Is Wide 03:31
14 The Cherry Tree Carol 02:29
15 The Greenwood Sidie-O 02:28
16 Oh Shenandoah 02:22
17 Sure On This Shining Night 02:45
18 The Monk And His Cat 02:04
19 The Crucifixion 02:15
20 The Heavenly Banquet 01:27
21 The Desire For Hermitage 03:14
22 My Lagan Love 03:39
23 Poor Wayfarin' Stranger 02:58
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Simple Gifts, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Henriksson, Deborah - Simply Christmas
159 kr
BRAZIL: Invento - Faraco, Márcio
169 kr
Orchestral Works Volume 2 - Piazzolla, Astor - Piazzolla, Astor
179 kr
TUNISIA: Wasla - Skalli, Karima 321077 2007-04-16 159 kr
GIPSY MUSIC: Po Cheri DAQ332030 2007-04-16 159 kr
MAURITANIA: Nour 46819.2 2007-04-16 179 kr
AFRICA: Marabi Africa 46818.2 2007-03-28 179 kr
FRANCE/LEBANON: Tootya - Farroukh, Toufic OP126 2007-02-12 159 kr
Musikgruppen RAA - Raariteter NOSAGCD001 1995-08-07 179 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar