Händel, G. F. - Six Concerti Grossi, Op. 3 - Van Diemen’s Band

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
What we know as ‘Handel’s Opus 3’ is most likely little more than a brazen attempt by the London publisher John Walsh to make some quick money. In 1715, Walsh had issued a pirated edition of Corelli’s 12 Concerti Grossi Opus 6 which proved an instant success and left him constantly looking for similar opportunities. Almost 20 years later, perhaps in the knowledge that the royal protection granted to Handel’s musical output was about to expire, Walsh assembled a set of six orchestral pieces for a wide range of instruments. He prefaced them with a wholly misleading title-page – based on Corelli’s style-defining collection – and advertised them as Handel’s ‘Opera Terza’. It is likely that Handel never took part in the selection and organization of the individual movements, although he may have been involved in the revisions made when a reprint was necessary a few years later. Selected from various sources, the six concertos certainly don’t form an organic cycle – in complete contrast to the future Op.?6 concerti grossi, which Handel carefully conceived as a set. The fact remains that Opus 3 contains some of Handel’s best-loved music, in instrumental combinations that are colorful and often unexpected – aspects that Martin Gester and his musicians in the Tasmanian period band Van Diemen’s Band make the most of.
Artikelnummer BIS2079
Streckkod 7318599920795
Utgivningsdatum 2021-05-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Van Diemen’s Band
Dirigenter Gester, Martin
Kompositörer Händel, G. F.
Disk: 1
Concerto Grosso No. 1 in B flat major, Hwv 312
1 I. Vivace
2 Ii. Largo
3 Iii. Allegro
4 Iv. Tempo di minuetto
5 V. Gavotte
6 I. Largo e staccato
7 Ii. Allegro
8 Iii. Adagio
9 Iv. Allegro
10 I.
11 Ii. Allegro
12 Iii. Adagio
13 Iv. Allegro ma non troppo
14 V. Allegro
15 I. Vivace
16 Ii. Adagio
17 Iii. Allegro
18 I. Andante - Allegro - Lentamente
19 Ii. Andante
20 Iii. Allegro
21 Iv. Minuetto a & b alternatim
22 I. Allegro
23 Ii. Largo
24 Iii. Allegro
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Six Concerti Grossi, Op. 3, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Various - Venetian Christmas (SACD) - Arte dei Suonatori
169 kr
Lindberg, Christian (conductor) - Nordic Showcase
169 kr
Schnittke, Alfred - Symphony No. 0/Nagasaki - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor)
169 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Piano Quintets & Melodramas
Beethoven / Mozart - Quintets for Piano & Winds - Hough, Stephen (piano) BIS1552 2007-02-28 169 kr
Aho, Kalevi - Contrabassoon Concerto/Tuba Concerto BIS1574 2007-02-28 169 kr
Delius/Elgar/Holst - Through Gold and Silver Clouds - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1589 2007-02-28 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Rachmaninov, Sergey - Orchestral Works; The Three Symphonies (3CD Box) - Hughes, Owain Arwel (conductor) BIS1665 2007-01-31 269 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Sibelius, Jean - Origin of Fire, The - Ylioppilaskunnan laulajat BIS1525 2007-01-29 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Groven, Eivind - Towards the mountains - Aadland, Eivind BIS1312 2007-01-08 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar