Medtner, Nikolay - Songs - Fomina, Sofia

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Like his friend and contemporary Rachmaninoff, Nikolai Medtner enjoyed a privileged and affluent upbringing, and was also exiled from Russia following the revolution in 1917. Unlike Rachmaninoff, Medtner could point to an ancestry that was part German, and his father’s passion for Germanic culture ensured that Goethe and Beethoven exerted as much influence on the young Medtner as Russian composers and writers, in particular Beethoven’s piano sonatas and string quartets. Medtner moved first to Germany, then France, before settling in London in 1935. The earlier songs in this programme, Opp. 36 and 37, were written against the backdrop of the revolution, shortly before he fled Russia. Opp. 45 and 46 (written to Russian and German texts, respectively) were composed in France. Praised for her ‘formidably striking’ and ‘stunning silvery’ sound, the rising star soprano Sofia Fomina has performed in Toulouse and Baden-Baden, at Bayerische Staatsoper, Seattle Opera, Hungarian State Opera, Paris Opera, and The Royal Opera, Covent Garden. Her Pamina for Glyndebourne Festival Opera in 2019 received rave reviews. Alexander Karpeyev has performed throughout Europe and toured in the USA, Canada, and Russia as a concerto soloist, recitalist, and chamber musician. A prize-winner of several international competitions, he also completed a doctorate on performance practise in the music of Medtner, based on the Edna Iles Medtner Collection at the British Library.
Artikelnummer CHAN20171
Streckkod 0095115217122
Utgivningsdatum 2021-02-05
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Chandos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Fomina, Sofia
Karpeyev, Alexander
Kompositörer Medtner, Nikolay
Disk: 1
Sieben Lieder, Op.46
1 1 The Angel
2 2 The Flower
3 3 When roses fade
4 4 Spanish Romance
5 5 Night
6 6 Arion
7 1 Sleeplessness
8 2 Tears
9 3 Impromptu
10 4 The Waltz
11 5 Night Wind
12 1 Elegy
13 2 The Wagon of Life
14 3 Night Song
15 4 Our Time
16 1 Praeludium (Prelude)
17 2 Geweihter Platz (Hallowed Place)
18 3 Serenade ('Aussicht'/'Prospect')
19 4 Im Walde (In the Forest)
20 5 Winternacht (Winter Night)
21 6 Die Quelle (The Spring)
22 7 Frisch gesungen (Sing out!
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Songs, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
125 Years Of The Royal Scottish NO
169 kr
Albéniz, Isaac - Orchestral Works - Roscoe, Martin
169 kr
Overtures from the British Isles, Vol. 2
169 kr
Bach, J S - Art of Orchestral Transcription (The)
Medtner, Nikolay - PIANO WORKS VOL No. 5 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9691 2006-09-01 169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - PIANO WORKS VOL No. 6 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9692 2006-09-01 169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - COMPLETE PIANO SONATAS (4CD) - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9723 2006-09-01 699 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Piano Works Vol 7 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9899 2006-09-01 169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - PIANO WORKS VOL 4 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN9618 2006-09-01 169 kr
Medtner, Nikolay - Piano Works Vol 8 - Tozer, Geoffrey (piano) CHAN10266 2006-09-01 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar