Butterworth, George - Songs: Songs from A Shropshire Lad - Williams, Roderick (baritone)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
One of England's most distinctive composers, George Butterworth belonged to the generation of young men decimated in the Great War of 1914-1918. His sensitive and melancholic settings of poems from A.E. Housman's A Shropshire Lad, with their subject matter of the futility and arbitrariness of war, are small-scale masterpieces. Of particular note are the Loveliest of Trees, describing the passing of the seasons, and the ghostly and elegiac Is my team ploughing? The Folk Songs from Sussex and settings of poems by R.L. Stevenson, Shelley and Wilde, whose subject matter revolves around flirtation, love, courtship, marriage and desertion, are no less notable for their attention to detail, linguistic nuance and delicate, economical piano writing.

Artikelnummer 8572426
Streckkod 0747313242672
Utgivningsdatum 2010-08-23
Kategori Vokalt / Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Williams, Roderick (baritone)
Kompositörer Butterworth, George
Disk: 1
6 Songs from A Shropshire Lad
1 No. 1. Loveliest of trees
2 No. 2. When I was one - and - twenty
3 No. 3. Look not in my eyes
4 No. 4. Think no more, lad
5 No. 5. The lads in their hundreds
6 No. 6. Is my team ploughing
11 Folk Songs from Sussex: Nos. 7-11
7 No. 7. A brisk young sailor courted me
8 No. 8. Seventeen come Sunday
9 No. 9. Roving in the dew
10 No. 10. The true lover's farewell
11 No. 11. Tarry trousers
Bredon Hill and Other Songs
12 No. 1. Bredon Hill
13 No. 2. O Fair enough are sky and plain
14 No. 3. When the lad for the longing sighs
15 No. 4. On the idle hill of summer
16 No. 5. With rue my heart is laden
I Will Make You Brooches
17 I Will Make You Brooches
I Fear Thy Kisses
18 I Fear Thy Kisses
19 Requiescat
11 Folk Songs from Sussex: Nos. 1-6
20 No. 1. Yonder stands a lovely creature
21 No. 2. A blacksmith courted me
22 No. 3. Sowing the seeds of love
23 No. 4. A lawyer he went out one day
24 No. 5. Come my own one
25 No. 6. The cuckoo
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Songs: Songs from A Shropshire Lad, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


89 kr
Britten, Benjamin - Songs and Proverbs of William Blake - Williams, Roderick (baritone)
79 kr
Ireland, John - Songs - Williams, Roderick (baritone)
79 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Songs, Vol. 2 - Jurmu, Hannu
79 kr
Schubert, Franz - Schubert Lied Edition, Vol. 23: Austrian Contemporaries 3 - Sindram, Daniela (mezzo-soprano)
Webern, Anton - Complete Songs with Piano - Savenko, Svetlana 8570219 2007-03-21 89 kr
Schumann, Robert - Lieder Edition Vol. 3 - Rubens, Sibylla (soprano) 8557076 2007-02-24 79 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Songs Vol. 1 - Jurmu, Hannu 8570019 2007-02-24 79 kr
Finzi, Gerald - Songs - Williams, Roderick (baritone) 8557963 2006-11-15 79 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Songs - Williams, Roderick (baritone) 8557643 2005-11-01 79 kr
Finzi, Gerald - Songs - Williams, Roderick (baritone) 8557644 2005-06-01 79 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar