Dvorák, Antonín - Stabat Mater (Blu-ray) - Jansons, Mariss

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Like a prayer that comes from the heart "... stood the mournful Mother weeping" whispers the chorus after the orchestral introduction of Antonín Dvorák 's most celebrated choral work, the Stabat mater op. 58. As the work builds up to include the four vocal soloists, the obsessively repeated main motif of a descending chromatic line begins to work its magic on the rapt audience. And under the baton of Mariss Jansons, the Chorus and Symphony Orchestra of the Bayerischer Rundfunk, graced with four superb soloists, take us to a higher sphere of artistry, where hushed tones alternate with glorious fortissimi. Next to a Bruckner symphony performed by Jansons and his ensemble, the Stabat mater was, in the words of the Neue Zürcher Zeitung, "the second high point of this year's Lucerne Easter Festival," the venue of our concert.Perhaps Dvorák was truly moved by the death of his two-day-old daughter to write the work; Jansons, however, sees within it a broader and more profound range of sorrow. Having begun the work in late 1875 / early 1876, but set aside soon, Dvorák returned to it after two tragedies befell him and plunged him into an uncharacteristically melancholic mood: the accidental death of his 11-month-old daughter Rose and the succumbing to smallpox of his three-year-old son Otakar. Yet even stricken with grief, Dvorák could not resist writing simple, folk-like, life-affirming melodies for his luminous Stabat mater. To master these tragic events, the devout Catholic Dvorák sought comfort and strength in God and in the composition of a work dedicated to the Mother of Sorrows.
Artikelnummer BVE08014
Streckkod 4260415080141
Utgivningsdatum 2018-09-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Belvedere
Enhet Blu-ray
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Jansons, Mariss
Kompositörer Dvorák, Antonín
Orkestrar Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Stabat Mater (Blu-ray), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


239 kr
Beethoven, Ludwig van - Mass in C Major (Blu-ray) - Jansons, Mariss
249 kr
Dvorak, Antonin - Stabat Mater (DVD) - Jansons, Mariss
249 kr
Mozart, W A - Requiem (Blu-ray) - Jansons, Mariss
249 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 8; Don Quixote (Blu-ray) - Ma, Yo-Yo
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 8; Don Quixote (DVD) - Jansons, Mariss BDV08023 2017-03-03 249 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 8 / Carnival Overture - Jansons, Mariss 900145 2016-05-13 159 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 9 (BD) - Jansons, Mariss BDV08016 2016-04-15 249 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 9 - Jansons, Mariss BDV08015 2016-04-15 249 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 9 - Karajan, Herbert von (conductor) 704104 2010-11-08 349 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar