Sudden Light - - Bednall, David

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
There is something in the music of David Bednall that speaks of the English genius; it is present in his harmonic language, in its extended diatonic chords and shimmering polytonal beauty, and there too in the folk-like melodies of many of the works on this recording. His art grows from the ground of native tradition, that of the Anglican cathedral and collegiate choir and its revival in the decades since the First World War; it owes a debt to those who ‘collected’ English folksong, while it was still there to collect; and it connects with the richness of English lyrical poetry. A disciple of Vaughan Williams, Finzi or Howells? His music also harbours traces of Messiaen, Durufle´ and Vierne. The Epiphoni Consort and their director Tim Reader are passionate advocates of Bednall’s music, and this enterprising debut recording – opening with the ravishing depiction of luminosity that is his 40-part motet Lux orta est iusto – serves to highlight why Bednall is well on his way to becoming one of the UK’s best-loved living choral composers. The Epiphoni Consort was established in 2014 to bring together singers who have advanced vocal and choral training but other primary careers. It has since developed a reputation for creative programming with a commitment to the music of living composers. In 2015, the choir was winner of Tenebrae’s Locus Iste Competition, following which they joined Tenebrae on stage at St James’, Spanish Place. The Consort performed at Sir Terry Pratchett’s memorial at the Barbican and made its first TV appearance in 2016 in a BBC4 documentary, The Joy of Rachmaninov. In 2017 it featured in the BBC2 documentary Terry Pratchett: Back In Black.
Artikelnummer DCD34189
Streckkod 0801918341892
Utgivningsdatum 2017-08-18
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Delphian
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Reader, Tim
Ensembler Epiphoni Consort
Kompositörer Bednall, David
Disk: 1
1 Lux orta est iusto
2 Rise up, my love
3 Te lucis ante terminum
4 1. First Love
5 2. Part I: Though you are in your shining days
6 2. Part II: The Cloths of Heaven
7 3. Then and Now
8 Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
9 Welcome All Wonders – XI. Tribus miraculis ornatum
10 Welcome All Wonders – XIII. But peaceful was the n
11 Tota pulchra es
12 Everyone Sang
13 Sonnet 98
14 A Wedding Prayer
15 Sudden Light
16 The Argument of His Book
17 Welcome All Wonders – II. Alleluia
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Sudden Light, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


151 kr (189 kr)
Brahms, Johannes - An English Requiem - Bevan, Mary
191 kr (239 kr)
Piazzolla, Astor - María de Buenos Aires
151 kr (189 kr)
Hill, Peter - Russian Works for Piano Four Hands - Stravinsky, Igor
151 kr (189 kr)
Maxwell Davies, Peter - The Last Island
Shibe, Sean - Dreams and Fancies: English music for solo guitar - Various DCD34193 2017-08-18 151 kr (189 kr)
Wilkinson, Clare / Rose Consort of Viols - Mynstrelles With Straunge Sounds DCD34169 2016-01-15 151 kr (189 kr)
Mr McFall’s Chamber - Baltic Reflections DCD34156 2015-11-13 151 kr (189 kr)
Byrd / Tallis / Taverner - Music from the Baldwin Partbooks - McCleery, Rory DCD34160 2015-11-13 151 kr (189 kr)
Purcell, Henry - Purcell's Revenge DCD34161 2015-03-13 151 kr (189 kr)
Various - Serenissima: Music from Renaissance Europe DCD34149 2014-09-12 151 kr (189 kr)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar