Rachmaninoff, Sergei - Symphonies & Orchestral Music (4 SACD)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Sergei Rachmaninov was one of the twentieth century’s outstanding pianists, but the large body of purely orchestral music he composed is no less an expression of his musical character. His great strength was that he managed to preserve intact a vision he had discovered very early in life. This contemporary of Schoenberg, Scriabin, Ravel and Ives was unconcerned with musical fashions and had no wish to be a pioneer. Instead, and over a period of half a century he refined and deepened a language which derived naturally from his late-nineteenth-century Russian background. With this four-disc box set, the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Lan Shui present a comprehensive collection of Rachmaninov’s music for orchestra – from the Scherzo in D minor, his first surviving piece for orchestra, completed just before his fifteenth birthday to the canonical works: the Symphonies and the Symphonic Dances. The recordings were made between 2008 and 2015, with the three symphonies (previously released on separate albums) described as ‘eine formidable Gesamteinspielung’ on the website Pizzicato. But there is much more to Rachmaninov’s orchestral music besides the symphonies, and this box offers the listener opportunity to explore the young composer’s fascination with Gypsy themes (in the excerpts from the opera Aleko and Capriccio bohemien) as well as his lifelong preoccupation with death, in the form of the four notes of the Dies irae plainchant motif. This is heard again and again in Rachmaninov’s music, up until his very last work, the Symphonic Dances, where, at the very end of the third and final dance, this symbol of death is finally laid to rest.
Artikelnummer BIS2512
Streckkod 7318599925127
Utgivningsdatum 2021-02-05
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 4
Dirigenter Shui, Lan
Kompositörer Rachmaninoff, Sergei
Orkestrar Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Disk: 1
Symphony No.1 in D minor, Op. 13
1 I. Grave - Allegro ma non troppo
2 Ii. Allegro animato
3 Iii. Larghetto
4 Iv. Allegro con fuoco
5 Symphonic Movement in D minor ‘youth Symphony’
6 Prince Rostislav
Disk: 2
Symphony No.2 in E minor, Op. 27
1 I. Largo - Allegro moderato
2 Ii. Allegro molto
3 Iii. Adagio
4 Iv. Allegro vivace
5 Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14 (arr. for orchestra: Serge
Disk: 3
Symphony No.3 in A minor, Op. 44
1 I. Lento - Allegro moderato - Allegro
2 Ii. Adagio ma non troppo - Allegro vivace
3 Iii. Allegro
4 I. Non allegro - Lento - Tempo I
5 Ii. Andante con moto: Tempo di valse
6 Iii. Lento assai - Allegro vivace - Lento assai -
Disk: 4
The Rock
1 The Rock, Op. 7
2 Introduction
3 Men's Dance
4 Intermezzo
5 Women's Dance
6 Capriccio bohémien, Op. 12
7 Scherzo in D minor
8 Prelude to the opera The Miserly Knight, Op. 24
9 The Isle of the Dead, Op. 29
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Symphonies & Orchestral Music (4 SACD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Balakirev, M A - Russian Spectacular - Shui, Lan
169 kr
Bach, J S - Ottorino Respighi - Transcriptions of Bach & Rachmaninoff
169 kr
Strauss, Richard - Macbeth; Rosenkavalier Suite; Tod und Verklarung
169 kr
Debussy, Claude - Nocturnes; Printemps; Rapsodie & Danses sacrée et profane - Shui, Lan
Debussy, Claude - Jeux; Khamma; La boite à joujoux - Shui, Lan BIS2162 2017-07-21 169 kr
Mahler, Gustav - Lied von der Erde, Das (in Chinese) - Liang, Ning (mezzo-soprano) BISSACD1547 2007-10-15 169 kr
Yi, Chen - Momentum - Shui, Lan BIS1352 2003-08-04 169 kr
Tcherepnin, Alexander - Piano Concertos - Ogawa, Noriko (piano) BIS1247 2003-06-16 169 kr
Järvlepp, Jan - Garbage Concerto; Rock Symphony - Shui, Lan (conductor) BIS1052 2000-05-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Tcherepnin, Alexander - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2; Piano Concerto No. 5 - Ogawa, Noriko BIS1017 1999-09-13 169 kr

Andra har köpt

Andra kunder har även köpt:
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar