Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Symphony No. 8 - Boult, Adrian

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
London Philharmonic Orchestra / Sir Adrian Boult


Renowned for his interpretations of English works, Sir Adrian Boult (1889-1983) was a master of the baton and one of Britain's leading conductors. He had a great love for and understanding of the music

of Vaughan Williams, who was said to be 'totally in favour of Sir Adrian's approach to his music' (John Culshaw).

Vaughan Williams was a close friend of Boult, to whom he dedicated 'Job: A Masque for Dancing', a work that has been hailed as one of the English composer's greatest achievements. Boult made four commercial recordings of Job, the first in 1946 with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, followed by two with the LPO in 1954 and 1958, and the last in 1970 with the LSO.

As a champion of English Music, and of Vaughan Williams in particular, Boult was the natural choice to conduct this centenary concert to mark Vaughan Williams' birth, which he did in his capacity as president of the LPO fifteen years after he had stepped down as its Music Director, in a period described as his 'Indian Summer'. A conductor who made many recordings, Boult's version of Vaughan Williams Symphony No.8 for EMI is hailed as 'vivid and fresh' in the Penguin Guide, whilst his interpretations of other RVW symphonies are described as 'warm and mature', 'full-bodied and well focussed'.

This is the first DVD release of this material.

Sound format: Ambient Mastering
Picture format: 4:3
Running time: 73'
Subtitles: n/a
Menu languages: English
Booklet languages: E/F/G

Artikelnummer ICAD5037
Streckkod 5060244550377
Utgivningsdatum 2011-09-12
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag ica classics
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Dirigenter Boult, Adrian
Kompositörer Vaughan Williams, Ralph
Disk: 1
1 Symphony No. 8
2 Job: A Masque for Dancing
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Symphony No. 8, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


139 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Symphonies Nos. 5 & 6 - Boult, Adrian
239 kr
Dvorák, Antonín - Symphony No. 9 - Kempe, Rudolf (conductor)
239 kr
Schubert, Franz - Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2 - Beaux Arts Trio
239 kr
Elgar, Edward - Symphony No. 2 / Enigma Variations - Solti, Georg (conductor)
Munch, Charles (conductor) - Charles Munch conducts Debussy & Ravel ICAD5014 2011-02-07 239 kr
Munch, Charles (conductor) - Charles Munch conducts Fauré, Franck & Wagner ICAD5015 2011-02-07 239 kr
Szymanowski, Karol - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4 - Wit, Antoni (conductor) ICAD5017 2011-02-07 239 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - O Thou Transcendent TPDVD106 2008-01-14 239 kr
Ej i lager
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Fantasia on Greensleeves - Judd, James 5110053 2005-01-01 109 kr
Vaughan Williams, Ralph - Symfoni nr 1 - Daniel, Paul (conductor) 5110016 2003-11-01 109 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar