Teagarden, Charlie - The Big Horn of 'Little T'

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar

Following on from the pioneering Johnny Windhurst CD (RTR 4316), a ‘Record of the Year’, Retrospective presents more buried jazz treasure with The Big Horn Of Little T. Another rewarding collaboration with trumpeter Digby Fairweather, this one throws the spotlight onto the man Jimmy Dorsey called “The most under-rated trumpeter in the world”: Charlie Teagarden – and this is the first ever CD devoted to his artistry.

It may have been a mixed blessing to be the younger brother of the musician regarded as the greatest jazz trombonist who ever lived, Jack Teagarden, but Charlie earned a reputation as one of the finest trumpeters of the day, equally effective in a big band setting or (as mostly here) in a small combo. Jazz discographies list 232 sessions, but most studio recordings were with big bands. Here we concentrate on the smaller groups, the majority rare live performances, where Charlie’s astonishing gifts were given freer rein. In particular, we include the entire contents of the one, brilliant, album he made as a leader: The Big Horn Of Little T. His warm and beguiling tone, fluently unfaultable phrasing and generous almost florid vibrato are an irresistible confirmation of Jimmy Dorsey’s written tribute.
Artikelnummer RTR4332
Streckkod 0710357433221
Utgivningsdatum 2018-07-10
Kategori Jazz
Skivbolag Retrospective
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Teagarden, Charlie
Disk: 1
1 'S Wonderful
2 Liza
3 I Can't Get Started
4 Struttin' With Some Barbecue
5 Charley, My Boy
6 Jazz Me Blues
7 Basin Street Blues
8 Sugar
9 Don't Blame Me
10 Just You, Just Me
11 Ostrich Walk
12 What' s New?
13 Anything Goes
14 Gone With The Wind
15 I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
16 Yesterdays
17 Charmaine
18 You Stepped Out Of A Dream
19 Tangerine
20 My Heart Belongs To Daddy
21 Thou Swell
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Big Horn of 'Little T', berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


119 kr
Kitt, Eartha - Just An Old-Fashioned Girl
119 kr
Original Artists
119 kr
Kate Smith - Hello, Everybody!
119 kr
Neuf garcons . . . Trois cloches
Paul, Les - Vaya Con Dios RTR4128 2014-04-07 119 kr
Ej i lager
Armstrong, Louis - - West End Blues-Hot Fives & Hot Sevens RTR4129 2014-04-07 119 kr
Various Artists - Golden Age of the Music Hall (1905-1934) RTR4130 2014-04-07 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Getz, Stan - Autumn Leaves RTR4134 2014-04-07 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various Artists - Bunny Berigan: I Can't Get Started RTR4139 2014-04-07 119 kr
Georgia on My Mind RTR4146 2014-04-07 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar