Holst, Gustav - The Cloud Messenger (Chamber Version) - The Choir of King's College London

Lägg till önskelista + 159 kr - Ej i lager

In 1910, after seven years of work, Gustav Holst completed his choral-orchestral masterpiece, The Cloud Messenger. But following a disappointing premiere in 1913 the piece fell into obscurity and has received only a handful of performances. This crowning glory from the composer’s Sanskrit period deserves to be much better known. Telling the powerful fifth-century story of an exiled yaksha who spies a passing cloud and sends upon it a message of love to his distant wife in the Himalayas, it is rich in its harmonic language and ingenious in its motivic construction, and points the way to Holst’s next major work, The Planets. This colorful chamber version by conductor Joseph Fort lends the more tender passages a new intimacy and clarity, while retaining much of the force of the original and laying the ground for a new life in performance. A set of five-part songs, completed the year The Cloud Messenger was begun, shows the newly married Holst similarly absorbed by love’s trials and rewards
Artikelnummer DCD34241
Streckkod 0801918342417
Utgivningsdatum 2020-04-24
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Delphian
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister The Choir of King's College London
Dirigenter Fort, Joseph
Kompositörer Holst, Gustav
Orkestrar The Strand Ensemble
Disk: 1
The Cloud Messenger, Op. 30
1 Prelude
2 O thou, who com’st from Heaven’s king
3 In the city of the Great God
4 Bringer of rain
5 Rushing northward
6 See how all greet thee
7 Behold the villages
8 As the rain descends
9 Tarry not, O cloud, tarry not
10 Tarry not, O cloud
11 And hark!
12 Thou hast reached the snowy peaks
13 And see! The Great God himself
14 Chorus (Moderato maestoso) – Vivace
15 When the dancers are weary
16 Wait near her flower-covered window
17 The Message (I, the bringer of the rain)
18 Beloved!'
19 Dream Tryst
20 Ye little birds
21 Her eyes the glow-worm lend thee
22 Now is the month of Maying
23 Come to me
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Cloud Messenger (Chamber Version), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Leighton, Kenneth - Masses for Double Choir - Fort, Joseph
189 kr
Brahms, Johannes - An English Requiem - Bevan, Mary
159 kr
Deutsche Motette: German Romantic Choral Music from Schubert to Strauss - Choir of Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge - Various
159 kr
Allegri, Gregorio - Masses, Miserere & Motets - The Choir of King's College London
Holst, Gustav - Double Concerto / St Paul's Suite / Brook Green Suite - English Sinfonia 8570339 2007-04-25 119 kr
Holst, Gustav - Planets - Holst, Gustav 8111048 2006-09-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Holst, Gustav - DOUBLE CONCERTO - Hickox, Richard CHAN9270 2006-09-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Holst, Gustav - Planets, The - Lloyd-Jones, David 8555776 2002-03-01 119 kr
Holst, Gustav - SAVITRI /THE DREAM CITY CDH55042 2000-07-10 89 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Holst, Gustav - Beni Mora / Somerset Rhapsody / Invocation - Royal Scottish National Orchestra 8553696 1998-03-10 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar