Various - The Contrast - English Poetry in Song - Sampson, Carolyn

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Song composition has been a constant in British music since the lute and consort works of the early seventeenth century. By 1900, it had developed into a sophisticated genre embraced by almost all serious composers. The music on this amply-filled disc illustrates the diversity of British song-writing and its transformation over a century: from Vaughan Williams’s Orpheus and his Lute (ca 1901) to Huw Watkins’s Five Larkin Songs, composed in 2010 for Carolyn Sampson, who performs them here. Together with Joseph Middleton, her partner on several acclaimed recital discs, she has devised a highly contrasting programme bookended by two groups of songs by William Walton – A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table from 1962, celebrating the diversity of London, and three songs from Façade, the ‘entertainment’ with which the young composer gained both fame and notoriety in 1923.These frame settings by Ralph Vaughan Williams, Roger Quilter and Frank Bridge of poetry by writers from Shakespeare and Shelley to Keats and Yeats. In comparison, the anti-romantic poems by Philip Larkin have been described as marked by ‘a very English, glum accuracy’. Huw Watkins (b. 1976) has selected texts from across Larkin’s output, catching the various moods – ranging from a certain unsentimental nostalgia to the poet’s seemingly habitual pessimism – in settings that often carry a bittersweet sting in the tail.
Artikelnummer BIS2413
Streckkod 7318599924137
Utgivningsdatum 2020-02-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Sampson, Carolyn
Middleton, Joseph
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
1 The Lord Mayor's Table
2 Glide gently
3 Wapping Old Stairs
4 Holy Thursday
5 The Contrast
6 Rhyme
7 Orpheus with his lute
8 The sky above the roof
9 Silent Noon
10 Go not, happy day
11 When most I wink
12 Adoration
13 Come to me in my dreams
14 When you are old
15 Mantle of Blue
16 Love went a-riding
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
17 Who called love conquering
18 Wants
19 Love Songs in Age
20 Money
21 Dawn
22 Dream Valley, Op. 20 No. 1
23 Fair House of Joy, Op. 12 No. 7
24 By a Fountainside, Op. 12 No. 6
25 Arab Love Song
26 Autumn Evening, Op. 14 No. 1
27 My Life's Delight, Op. 12 No. 2
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
28 Daphne
29 Through gilded trellises
30 Old Sir Faulk
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Contrast - English Poetry in Song, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Wolf, Hugo - Italienisches Liederbuch - Sampson, Carolyn
169 kr
Various - Trennung - Songs of Separation - Sampson, Carolyn
169 kr
Schumann, Clara - Album für die Frau - Sampson, Carolyn
169 kr
Sampson, Carolyn - Reason in Madness - Various
Lost is my Quiet – Duets and solo songs - Sampson, Carolyn - Various BIS2279 2017-09-29 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various - Nordic Solo Flute Music - Bahr, Gunilla von (flute) BIS150 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various - Contemporary Danish Music for Orchestra, Volume 1 - Danish National Symphony Orchestra BIS079 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - Music for French Horn BIS047 2005-04-16 169 kr
Various - French Organ Music - Fagius, Hans BIS007 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various - Flute & Harp - Aitken, Robert BIS143 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar