Purcell, Henry - The Fairy Queen, 1692 (2CD) - McCreesh, Paul

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Högsta betyg (5 av 5) i Dagens Nyheter!
"Med sin ensemble Gabrieli har Paul McCreesh framfört Purcells ”The fairy queen” i snart tjugofem års tid, och alltmer lärt känna dess form, temposkiftningar och underliggande puls."
(Martin Nyström,

Purcell’s The Fairy Queen is based on Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a play not frequently performed in the late 17th century, nor very well regarded (“the most insipid ridiculous play that ever I saw in my life” - Samuel Pepys’ diary, 1662). Despite this, the play would go on to work well within an opera, as the characters of Pyramus and Thisbe could conjure up singing and dancing accomplices. Purcell’s masterful composition, Gabrieli’s first-class performance, and McCreesh’s superb interpretation demonstrate why their recordings are seen as some of the best in classical music today. Gabrieli are world-renowned interpreters of great vocal and instrumental repertoire, from the Renaissance to the present day. Founded by Paul McCreesh in 1982, Gabrieli have both outgrown and remained true to their original identity: whilst the ensemble’s repertoire has expanded beyond any expectation, McCreesh’s ever-questioning spirit, expressive musicianship and a healthy degree of iconoclasm remain constant and are reflected in the ensemble’s dynamic performances. Gabrieli’s repertoire includes major works of the oratorio tradition, virtuosic a cappella programmes and mold-breaking reconstructions of music for historical events. Above all, Gabrieli aims to create thought-provoking performances which stand out from the crowd.
Artikelnummer SIGCD615
Streckkod 0635212061527
Utgivningsdatum 2020-04-24
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister McCreesh, Paul
Kompositörer Purcell, Henry
Disk: 1
The Fairy Queen, Z. 629
1 Act I: Come, come, come let us leave this town (So
2 Act I: Fill up the bowl, then… (Blindfolded Poet,
3 Act I: First Act Tune: Jig
4 Act II: Come all ye songsters of the sky (High Ten
5 Act II: Dance for the followers of night
6 Act II: Hush, no more, be silent all (Sleep, Choru
7 Act II: I am come to lock all fast (Mystery)
8 Act II: May the God of Wit inspire (High Tenor, Te
9 Act II: Now join your warbling voices all (Chorus)
10 Act II: One charming night (Secrecy)
11 Act II: Second Act Tune: Air
12 Act II: See, even Night herself is here (Night)
13 Act II: Sing while we trip it upon the green (Fair
14 Act II: Symphony in imitation of an echo
15 Act II: Symphony in imitation of birds
16 Act III: A thousand, thousand ways we'll find (Hig
17 Act III: Dance for the fairies
18 Act III: Dance for the green men
19 Act III: Dance for the haymakers
20 Act III: If love's a sweet passion (Nymph, Chorus,
21 Act III: Now the maids and the men are making of h
22 Act III: Symphony while the swans come forward
23 Act III: Third Act Tune: Hornpipe
24 Act III: When I have often heard young maids compl
25 Act III: Ye gentle spirits of the air, appear! (Ny
26 First Music: Hornpipe
27 First Music: Prelude
28 Second Music: Air
29 Second Music: Overture
30 Second Music: Rondeau
Disk: 2
The Fairy Queen, Z. 629
1 Act IV: Fourth Tune: Air
2 Act IV: Hail! Great parent of us all (Chorus)
3 Act IV: Hail! Great parent of us all (Chorus)
4 Act IV: Here's the Summer, sprightly, gay (Summer)
5 Act IV: Let the fifes and the clarions and shrill
6 Act IV: Next Winter comes slowly, pale (Winter)
7 Act IV: Now the night is chased away (First Attend
8 Act IV: See my many coloure'd fields (Autumn)
9 Act IV: Symphony
10 Act IV: Symphony for the entry of Phoebus
11 Act IV: Thus the ever grateful Spring (Spring)
12 Act IV: When a cruel long winter has frozen the ea
13 Act V: Chaconne
14 Act V: Entry Dance
15 Act V: Hark! How all things with one sound rejoice
16 Act V: Hark! The echoing air a triumph sings (Firs
17 Act V: Monkey's Dance
18 Act V: O let me ever, ever weep (Nymph)
19 Act V: Prelude as Hymen enters
20 Act V: See, see I obey (Hymen, Two Chinese Women)
21 Act V: Sure the dull God of Marriage does not hear
22 Act V: Symphony
23 Act V: They shall be as happy as they're fair (Two
24 Act V: Thrice happy lovers (Juno)
25 Act V: Thus happy and free (Chinese Woman, Chorus)
26 Act V: Thus the gloomy world (Chinese Man)
27 Act V: Yes, Daphne (Chinese Man)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Fairy Queen, 1692 (2CD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


259 kr
Purcell, Henry - King Arthur, 1691 - Gabrieli Consort
159 kr
Nyman, Michael - If - Davies, Iestyn
159 kr
Purcell, Henry - Collection - Voces 8
119 kr
Purcell, Henry - Dido & Aeneas - Flagstad, Kirsten (soprano)
Purcell, Henry - 3CD-BOX: Complete Secular Solo Songs - King’s Consort (The) CDS44161 2003-11-17 229 kr
Purcell, Henry - Fantazias - London Baroque BIS1165 2001-11-01 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Purcell, Henry - SONGS & DIALOGUES CDH55065 2001-03-06 89 kr
Purcell, Henry - Complete Anthems and Services, Vol. 5 - King’s Consort (The) CDA66656 1997-02-25 159 kr
Purcell, Henry - Songs - Hill, Martyn (tenor) CDA66749 1995-03-03 169 kr
Purcell, Henry - Complete Anthems and Services, Vol 11 - King’s Consort (The) CDA66716 1994-11-24 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar