Locke, Matthew - The Flat Consort - Fretwork

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Matthew Locke was born 400 years ago in 1622, and while he is often ranked as one of England’s finest composers, he is still unaccountably neglected: his music may not be as immediately appealing as his immediate successor, Henry Purcell, nor as wide-ranging as William Byrd, yet his forceful musical personality and luxuriant technique place him in the first echelon of English composers, with his works described by Richard Boothby of Fretwork as having a "quixotic, capricious restlessness that is constantly challenging the listener to follow his argument ... a thrilling musical ride". Accompanying Fretwork on continuo for this recording are David Miller (archlute and theorbo) and Silas Wollston (harpsichord). The cover of the album bares an inscription in the walls by the choir stall of Exeter Cathedral, thought to have been carved by the composer during his time as a member of the choir there. In 2021, Fretwork celebrated its 35th anniversary. In the past three and a half decades they have explored the core repertory of great English consort music, from Taverner to Purcell, and made classic recordings against which others are judged. Their recent critically-praised releases with Signum include If and Lamento – both with counter-tenor Iestyn Davies – and In Nomine 2 (BBC Music Magazine).
Artikelnummer SIGCD696
Streckkod 0635212069622
Utgivningsdatum 2022-01-14
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Fretwork
Miller, David
Wollston, Silas
Kompositörer Locke, Matthew
Disk: 1
The Flat Consort, Suite No. 1 in C Minor
1 I. Fantazia
2 Ii. Courante
3 Iii. Fantazia
4 Iv. Saraband
5 V. Fantazia
6 Vi. Jigg
7 I. Fantazia
8 Ii. Fantazia
9 Iii. Courant
10 Iv. Fantazia
11 V. Fantazia
12 Vi. Saraband
13 I. Fantazia
14 Ii. Courant
15 Iii. Fantazia
16 Iv. Saraband
17 V. Fantazia
18 Vi. Jigg
19 I. Fantazia
20 Ii. Courante
21 Iii. Fantazia
22 Iv. Saraband
23 I. Fantazia
24 Ii. Fantazia
25 Iii. Courant
26 Iv. Fantazia
27 V. Fantazia
28 Vi. Saraband
29 I. Fantazia
30 Ii. Galliard
31 Iii. Fantazia
32 Iv. Saraband
33 I. Fantazia
34 Ii. Galliard
35 Iii. Fantazia
36 Iv. Saraband
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Flat Consort, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Tom & Will – Weelkes & Byrd - 400 Years - The King's Singers
159 kr
Locke, Matthew - The Little Consort - Bucheli, Sergio
159 kr
Lupo, Thomas - Fantasia - Fretwork
159 kr
Various - Lamento - Davies, Iestyn
Various - In Chains of Gold, The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 2 - William Byrd to Edmund Hooper, Psalms & Royal Anthems - Magdalena Consort SIGCD609 2020-06-26 159 kr
Various - In Nomine II - Fretwork SIGCD576 2019-11-15 159 kr
Dowland, John - First Booke of Songes or Ayres - Davidson, Grace SIGCD553 2018-11-02 159 kr
Gibbons, Orlando - In Chains of Gold: The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 1 - Fretwork SIGCD511 2017-11-10 159 kr
Locke, Matthew - Anthems, Motets & Ceremonial Music - Choir of New College, Oxford CDH55250 2005-09-12 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Senfl, Ludwig - Im Maien - Fretwork HMU907334 2004-10-04 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar