Roy Rogers - The King of the Cowboys

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
A fine tribute to the legendary “King of the Cowboys”, marking his centenary this year. 28 vintage tracks cover Roy Rogers’ career from 1936-1952. Leonard Slye (1911-1998) became the most famous singing cowboy of them all when he changed his name to “Roy Rogers”. Star of around 100 Westerns, with his horse Trigger, dog Bullet, wife Dale Evans and sidekick Gabby Hayes, he was the hero of all star-struck schoolboys. With the centenary of his birth falling in November, the legend lives on. Retrospective pays tribute with a 28-track, 78-minute compilation that covers all Roy Rogers’ most popular recordings from 1936 to 1952. “The King of the Cowboys” begins with the earliest big hit of the original Sons of the Pioneers (from 1936, even before he became Roy Rogers), Tumbling Tumbleweeds, and includes six other Pioneers recordings prior to his solo career. That began in 1938 and five of his early solos are featured, including Hi-Yo, Silver! (yes, referring to the then-cartoon character, The Lone Ranger). There are no fewer than 14 songs from the Forties, including his biggest hits My Chickashay Gal and Blue Shadows On The Trail, and such country evergreens as Along The Navajo Trail, San Fernando Valley, Don't Fence Me In, and of course the quintessential Home On The Range. From the early 50s come his tribute to Trigger, A Four-Legged Friend (from the Bob Hope comedy Son Of Paleface), and the evergreen duet with Dale Evans that closed his radio and TV programmes, Happy Trails.
Artikelnummer RTR4191
Streckkod 0710357419126
Utgivningsdatum 2014-04-07
Kategori Country
Skivbolag Retrospective
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Roy Rogers
Disk: 1
1 Tumbling Tumbleweeds
2 Way Out There
3 Ride, Ranger, Ride
4 Cowboy Night Herd Song
5 The Devil's Great-Grandson
6 When The Golden Train Comes Down
7 Hold That Critter Down
8 Dust
9 Listen To The Rhythm Of The Range
10 Hi-Yo, Silver
11 When I Camped Under The Stars
12 Headin' For Texas And Home
13 Along The Navajo Trail
14 Rock Me To Sleep In My Saddle
15 A Little White Cross On The Hill
16 My Chickashay Gal
17 On The Old Spanish Trail
18 San Fernando Valley
19 Roll On, Teax Moon
20 Don't Fence Me In
21 A Gay Ranchero
22 Hawaiian Cowboy
23 Blue Shadows On The Trail
24 Pecos Bill
25 Home On The Range
26 Stampede
27 A Four-Legged Friend
28 Happy Trails
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The King of the Cowboys, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


139 kr
Hank Williams - Timeless Classic Albums
119 kr
Tennessee Ernie Ford - Sixteen Tons
119 kr
Tex Williams - I Got Texas In My Soul
119 kr
Merle Travis - Sixteen Tons
Whitman, Slim - Rose Marie RTR4133 2014-04-07 119 kr
Whiting, Margaret - That Old Black Magic RTR4173 2014-04-07 119 kr
Arnold, Eddy - The Tennessee Plowboy RTS4100 2014-04-07 139 kr
Jimmie Rodgers - Blue Yodel RTS4110 2014-04-07 139 kr
Alma Cogan - Dreamboat RTR4121 2014-04-07 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Various Artists - Hits of '57 RTR4120 2014-04-07 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar