Locke, Matthew - The Little Consort - Bucheli, Sergio

Lägg till önskelista + 159 kr - Ej i lager

In November 2022 Fretwork return for the second instalment of their cycle of works by Matthew Locke. Matthew Locke was born 400 years ago in 1622, and while he is often ranked as one of England’s finest composers, he is still unaccountably neglected: his music may not be as immediately appealing as his immediate successor, Henry Purcell, nor as wide-ranging as William Byrd, yet his forceful musical personality and luxuriant technique place him in the first echelon of English composers, with his works described by Richard Boothby of Fretwork as having a “quixotic, capricious restlessness that is constantly challenging the listener to follow his argument ... a thrilling musical ride”. Accompanying Fretwork on continuo for this recording are David Miller (archlute and theorbo) and Silas Wollston (harpsichord). The cover of the album bares an inscription in the walls by the choir stall of Exeter Cathedral, thought to have been carved by the composer during his time as a member of the choir there.
Artikelnummer SIGCD728
Streckkod 0635212072820
Utgivningsdatum 2022-11-11
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Bucheli, Sergio
Wollston, Silas
Kompositörer Locke, Matthew
Disk: 1
Suite No. 1 in G Minor
1 I. Pavan
2 Ii. Ayre
3 Iii. Courante
4 Iv. Saraband
5 I. Pavan
6 Ii. Ayre
7 Iii. Courante
8 Iv. Saraband
9 I. Pavan
10 Ii. Ayre
11 Iii. Courante
12 Iv. Saraband
13 I. Pavan
14 Ii. Ayre
15 Iii. Courante
16 Iv. Saraband
17 I. Pavan
18 Ii. Ayre
19 Iii. Courante
20 Iv. Saraband
21 I. Pavan
22 Ii. Ayre
23 Iii. Courante
24 Iv. Saraband
25 I. Pavan
26 Ii. Ayre
27 Iii. Courante
28 Iv. Saraband
29 I. Pavan
30 Ii. Ayre
31 Iii. Courante
32 Iv. Saraband
33 I. Pavan
34 Ii. Ayre
35 Iii. Courante
36 Iv. Saraband
37 I. Pavan
38 Ii. Ayre
39 Iii. Courante
40 Iv. Saraband
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Little Consort, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Tom & Will – Weelkes & Byrd - 400 Years - The King's Singers
159 kr
Lupo, Thomas - Fantasia - Fretwork
159 kr
Locke, Matthew - The Flat Consort - Fretwork
159 kr
Various - Lamento - Davies, Iestyn
Various - In Chains of Gold, The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 2 - William Byrd to Edmund Hooper, Psalms & Royal Anthems - Magdalena Consort SIGCD609 2020-06-26 159 kr
Various - In Nomine II - Fretwork SIGCD576 2019-11-15 159 kr
Gibbons, Orlando - In Chains of Gold: The English Pre-Restoration Verse Anthem, Vol. 1 - Fretwork SIGCD511 2017-11-10 159 kr
Agricola, Alexander - Chansons - Fretwork HMU907421 2006-08-21 159 kr
Locke, Matthew - Anthems, Motets & Ceremonial Music - Choir of New College, Oxford CDH55250 2005-09-12 79 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Senfl, Ludwig - Im Maien - Fretwork HMU907334 2004-10-04 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar