Handel, G F - The Occasional Oratorio - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
For his "Occasional Oratorio", composed in 1746 in an age of personal and political upheaval, Handel made generous use of much of his own earlier material, and this resulted in something quite close to an anthology: a choice collection of his most beautiful and most famous pieces – as it were, a "Best Of". The "Messiah" librettist Charles Jennens complained loudly that the oratorio was "a triumph for a victory not yet gain'd", and that its libretto, by a certain Newburgh Hamilton, was an "inconceivable jumble of John Milton and Edmund Spenser". Nevertheless, the "Occasional Oratorio" offers the modern listener magnificent and largely familiar melodies, highly virtuosic Baroque arias, moving choruses and, above all, a magnificent Late Baroque sound that, in this extremely compact score, is quite unique. Audiences at the time probably considered this to be "Handel at his best", and today's public doubtlessly shares that opinion. This virtuoso and colourful interpretation, recorded recently on February 11, 2017 in the Herkulessaal of the Munich Residenz, was an exemplary success, delighting the audience and the trade press alike. Howard Arman conducted the Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the Akademie für Alte Music Berlin with its historically informed performance practice, and a line-up of highly talented English soloists. This concert recording is also the world's first recording of the "Occasional Oratorio" according to the historically researched and edited score of the Neue Hallische Handel edition: it will appear on the BR-KLASSIK label in July 2017. ? World premiere recording of the Oratorio according to the Neue Hallische Handel edition ? Recording of a recent Munich concert on February 11, 2017 ? Exciting live atmosphere ? Historically informed performance practice and original instruments with the Akademie für
Artikelnummer 900520
Streckkod 4035719005202
Utgivningsdatum 2017-07-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BR Klassik
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Dirigenter Arman, Howard
Kompositörer Handel, G F
Orkestrar Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
Disk: 1
1 Ouvertuere. (Tempo ordinario) – Allegro - Adagio -
2 Why do the gentiles tumult
3 Let us break off by strength of hand
4 Oh Lord, how many are my foes
5 Him or his God we not fear
6 Jehovah, to my words give ear
7 Him or his God we scorn to fear!
8 The Highest, who in Heav’n doth dwell
9 Oh who shall pour into my swollen eyes
10 Fly from the threat’ning vengeance, fly!
11 Humbled with fear
12 His sceptre is the rod of righteousness
13 Be wise at length
14 Of many millions the populous rout
15 Jehovah is my shield, my glory
16 Fools or madmen stand
17 God found them guilty
18 Oh liberty, thou choicest treasure
19 Who trusts in God
20 Prophetic visions strike my eye
21 May God, from whom all mercies spring
22 The Lord hath heard my pray’r
23 Then will I Jehovah’s praise
24 All his mercies shall endure
Disk: 2
1 How great and many perils do enfold
2 After long storms and tempests overblown
3 To God, our strength
4 He has his mansion fix’d on high
5 Hallelujah, your voices raise
6 Sinfonia. A tempo giusto – Musette. Larghetto
7 I will sing unto the Lord
8 Who is like unto thee, oh Lord
9 He gave them hailstones for rain
10 When warlike ensigns wave on high
11 The enemy said
12 The enemy said
13 The sword that’s drawn in virtue’s cause
14 Millions unborn shall bless the hand
15 When Israel
16 When Israel
17 Tyrants, whom no cov’nants bind
18 May balmy peace
19 May balmy peace
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Occasional Oratorio, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Elgar, Edward - Partsongs - From the Bavarian Highlands - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
318 kr
Mendelssohn-Hensel, Fanny - Zwei Leben fur die Musik (4CD) - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
159 kr
Dvorak, Antonin - Stabat mater for soloists, choir and piano - Drake, Julius
169 kr
Mozart, W A - Mass K427 - Arman, Howard
Bach, J S - Motets - Arman, Howard 900523 2018-10-05 159 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Psalmen - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks 900519 2017-10-06 159 kr
Pärt, Arvo - Pärt: Live - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks 900319 2017-05-19 159 kr
Gloria - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks 900518 2017-02-17 119 kr
Bach, J S - Mass in B Minor (3 CD) - Dijkstra, Peter 900910 2017-02-03 359 kr
Bach, J S - Bach Complete Edition (9 CD) - Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks 900513 2016-10-14 889 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar