Ustvolskaya, Galina - The Precise Music of Galina Ustvolskaya: The Six Piano Sonatas (DVD) - Lubimov, Alexei

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
In the period from 1947–1988 Galina Ustvolskaya wrote six sonatas. These Sonatas are the laboratory of her spiritual quest: In them there is the combination of the creation of the universe and maximum personal deepening and confessing. Her work recalls discoveries in physics, showing that the macrocosm and microcosm are built to the same laws.

The First Sonata is vaguely similar in style to Shostakovich. The first and second movements of this sonata bring to mind Shostakovich's compositions from the 1920s, while the third movement is reminiscent of work he did in the 1970s. But the Second Sonata is different; its musical language is more sacred in nature. At about 18 minutes, the Third Sonata is the longest. In it, Ustvolskaya's style achieves its culmination. The Fourth Sonata is closest in form to a suite. There are echoes of the 12 Preludes (1953). Ustvolskaya wrote the Fifth Sonata in ten sections across a period of nearly thirty years. It has a "theme" running through it which consists of a single sound: that of the first octave. This sound keeps appearing, as if symbolising a kind of centre of the universe or of the keyboard, or of the human and divine spirit. The Sixth Sonata is the last and the shortest. In it, Ustvolskaya introduces new techniques to her music, involving playing the using the palms of the hands and the elbows.

Alexei Lubimov had the idea for a performance of all of Ustvolskaya's sonatas during a single concert while he was studying her music with his students: “A Moscow theatre, the School of Dramatic Art, gave us the use of its unusual ‘Globe Hall’ for this project. The hall is shaped like an octohedron, with three tiers of seating around a central empty space [...]. The acoustics of this cramped space concentrated sounds and carried them upwards. The audience was at the very centre of Ustvolskaya's sound laboratory and was able, quite literally, to be inside the instrument and inside its sound.”

Language: English
Sound format: Stereo?
Picture format: 16:9
Disk type: DVD 5
Country code: (0) PAL
Length: ca. 73 min?
Production: Alexei Lubimov
Artikelnummer MV8105
Streckkod 4010228081053
Utgivningsdatum 2015-02-13
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Wergo
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Lubimov, Alexei
Kompositörer Ustvolskaya, Galina
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Precise Music of Galina Ustvolskaya: The Six Piano Sonatas (DVD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Stockhausen, Karlheinz - Strahlen (DVD) - Hudacsek, Laszlo
239 kr
Birdcage: 73'20.958'' for a Composer (DVD) - Cage, John
279 kr
Orff, Carl - Gisei (DVD) - Trinks, Constantin
239 kr
Vogel, Peter - Peter Vogel – The Sound of Shadows (DVD)
Maulwerke (DVD) - Schnebel, Dieter MV8045 2011-11-02 239 kr
Ustvolskaya, Galina - Composition No. 2 (Dies irae); Sonata No. 6 & Grand Duet - Formenti, Marino WER67392 2011-10-04 159 kr
Orff, Carl - Antigonae (DVD) - Blunier, Stefan MV8555 2011-05-02 279 kr
Orff, Carl - Oedipus the Tyrant (DVD) - Blunier, Stefan MV8545 2011-04-01 279 kr
Orff, Carl - The Bernauer Woman (DVD) - Mast, Mark MV8535 2009-11-02 279 kr
Ej i lager
In the Moment: A Portrait (DVD) - Rihm, Wolfgang MV8035 2006-01-23 239 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar