Babajanian / Rachmaninov - The Return - Besalyan, Raffi

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
'Technically brilliant... Besalyan played with a great deal of temperament, speed and power... audacious spirit and poetic substance, deeply felt tenderness...' - New York Concert Review.'A keyboard phenomenon that needs to be heard by everyone interested in pianists and the piano.' - Fanfare Magazine, USA.'A formidable pianist with a commanding presence and rich interpretive gifts.' - American Record Guide Magazine.Thoughts of home dominate much of the music Raffi Besalyan performs here. Rachmaninoff's 'B-Minor Prelude' was inspired by The Return, a painting by Arnold Bocklin, and although it was written before his emigration the work was a constant companion in his exile, a favorite for his own recitals and a reminder of his years in Russia. Similarly, the folk-inspired piano music of Arno Babajanian recalls a distant homeland. Based in Moscow for much of his adult life, Babajanian looked back to his native Armenia in music that mixed the folk idioms of his people with the virtuosic pianism of the Russian school. And now Besalyan, an Armenian pianist based in the United States, brings their music together in a program infused with warm memories, evocations of far off places, and reminders of earlier times.Both Rachmaninoff and Chopin can be heard as influences in the music of Arno Babajanian. His studies in Moscow from 1938 exposed the Armenian composer to a wide range of styles, and the greater political freedom of the Khrushchev period when he began his professional career in the 1950s allowed him to explore many of these ideas in his works. The 'Piano Trio in F# Minor', written in 1952, established his credentials as a composer of concert music, but he was also well-known for his cinema work, and particularly for the title song he wrote for the film Song of the First Love released in 1958. The four works presented here demonstrate how Babajanian was able to incorporate aspects of Armenian musical identity into the Russian piano idioms he had become acquainted with through his studies in Moscow. The line of inheritance from Chopin via Rachmaninoff is evident in the 'Prelude'. The slow movements of Rachmaninoff's concertos are reflected in the 'Melody' that follows. 'Elegy' was written towards the end of Babajanian's life in 1978, composed in memory of fellow Armenian composer, Aram Khachaturian. The final work in the program, 'Vagharshapat Dance,' is an early composition dating from 1947. It is one of Babjanian's most popular works, skillfully infusing distinctively Armenian colors with an approach to piano figuration inherited directly from Rachmaninoff.Armenian-born American pianist Raffi Besalyan made his formal New York debut in Carnegie Hall after winning the Artists International Competition, and was subsequently invited to perform at Merkin Concert Hall on the Artists International 'Outstanding Alumni-Winners' series. Most recently Besalyan made his Chicago debut in famed Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center as the featured Guest Artist for the Chicago International Music Festival and was also interviewed by Wisconsin Public Radio's Norman Gilliland on 'The Midday'. Raffi Besalyan has established an international reputation as a magnetic and passionate performer. Active as a recitalist, orchestral soloist, and chamber musician, Besalyan appears in many important music venues worldwide. Critics on both sides of the Atlantic have praised his performances for their virility, poetry and extraordinary technical command.
Artikelnummer DSL92187
Streckkod 0053479218728
Utgivningsdatum 2015-04-22
Kategori Piano
Skivbolag Sono Luminus
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Besalyan, Raffi
Kompositörer Babajanian / Rachmaninov
Disk: 1
1 Prelude Op. 3 No. 2 in C sharp minor
2 Prelude Op. 23 No. 5 in G minor
3 Prelude Op. 23 No. 6 in E flat major
4 Prelude Op. 23 No. 7 in C minor
5 Prelude Op. 23 No. 5 in G minor
6 Prelude Op. 23 No. 10 in G flat major
7 Prelude Op. 23 No. 12 in G sharp minor
8 Étude-Tableau, Op. 33 No. 6 in E flat minor (publi
9 Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 1 in C minor
10 Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 5 in E flat minor
11 Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 6 in A minor
12 Variations on a theme of Corelli, Op. 42
13 Prelude
14 Melody and Humoresque
15 Elegy
16 Vagarshapat Dance
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Return, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Gershwin, George - The Sound of Black and White - Besalyan, Raffi
159 kr
Seascapes - Weber, Janice (piano)
159 kr
Levingston, Bruce (piano) - Heavy Sleep
159 kr
Debussy, Claude - Beau Soir (Blu-Ray Audio) - Lewin, Michael (piano)
Martinu, Bohuslav - Complete Piano Music Vol. 2 - Koukl, Giorgio (piano) 8557918 2007-02-21 60 kr (119 kr)
Scarlatti, Domenico - Complete Keyboard Sonatas Vol. 8 - Lee, Soyeon 8570010 2007-02-21 60 kr (119 kr)
Adams, John - Complete Piano Music: Phrygian Gates / China Gates / Hallelujah Junction - Raat, Ralph van (piano) 8559285 2007-02-21 119 kr
Chopin, Frédéric - Ballades/Nocturnes - Cortot, Alfred (piano) 8111245 2007-02-19 119 kr
Russian music: Memories of childhood - Engerer, Birgitte MIR022 2007-02-14 129 kr
Debussy, Claude - Piano Works, Vol 2 - Rogé, Pascal (piano) ONYX4018 2007-02-05 189 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar