Scott, Cyril - The Songs of Cyril Scott - Charlotte de, Rothschild

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
A composer who writes songs arguably allows us into a very personal side of his or her character. An instrumental composition gives us access to a composer’s imagination and invention as far as the composer chooses to let us see, but a song shows a composer’s highly personal response to a text – we hear how the composer reacts to another facet of creativity. We are not confined to the composer’s own thoughts, and the best songs take us into a composer’s creative mind. Scott’s compositional style reflected the colour and richness of his ideas. The songs on this CD cover a period from his early 20s to when he was about 40. A few of Scott’s songs became extraordinarily popular: they undoubtedly overshadowed the rest of his work. In many of his songs, he explored and developed his harmonic language, and set the mood and character of the text, so that the best can be explored at many levels. Some of them seem simple, but hide, as Edmund Rubbra, a composer and a student of Scott, put it, ‘a good deal of artifice’. Repeated listenings allow their richness of detail to sink in, and they become more and more rewarding. [Valerie Langfield]
Artikelnummer SRCD365
Streckkod 5020926036520
Utgivningsdatum 2018-05-04
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Lyrita
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Charlotte de, Rothschild
Farmer, Adrian
Kompositörer Scott, Cyril
Disk: 1
1 Pierrot and the Moon Maiden
2 Daffodils, Op. 68, No. 1
3 Spring Song
4 Don't Come in Sir, Please!, Op. 43, No. 2
5 The Valley Of Silence, Op. 72, No. 4
6 Willows, Op. 24, No. 2
7 In a Fairy Boat, Op. 61, No. 2
8 Lovely Kind & Kindly Loving, Op. 55, No. 1
9 Scotch Lullabye, Op. 57, No. 3
10 The Watchman
11 Water-Lilies
12 Voices Of Vision, Op. 24, No. 1
13 Sundown
14 Autumn's Lute
15 A Valediction, Op. 36, No. 1
16 Lullaby, Op. 57, No. 2
17 The Unforeseen, Op. 74, No. 3
18 A Lost Love, Op. 62, No. 1
19 Night Song
20 Sorrow, Op. 36, No. 2
21 Love's Aftermath
22 Looking Back
23 Meditation
24 An Old Song Ended
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Songs of Cyril Scott, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


359 kr
Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong - The Songs of C. Armstrong Gibbs (4CD) - Charlotte de, Rothschild
139 kr
Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong - Discover The Songs of C. Armstrong Gibbs - Charlotte de, Rothschild
159 kr
Dupont, Gabriel - 3 French Song Cycles - Charlotte de, Rothschild
159 kr
Peterkin, Norman - The Songs of Norman Peterkin - Charlotte de, Rothschild
Rubbra, Edmund - Complete Chamber Music & Songs With Harp - Chadwell, Tracey SRCD353 2016-05-27 159 kr
Cooke, Arnold - Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 REAM1123 2016-05-27 89 kr
Symphony No. 5 / The Vision Of Judgement - Davis, Colin REAM1124 2016-05-27 89 kr
Piano Concerto No. 1 / The Bermudas / Cantos - Kitchin, Margaret REAM1126 2016-05-27 89 kr
Wordsworth, William - Symphony Nos. 1 & 5 - Loughran, James REAM1121 2016-05-13 89 kr
Milner, Anthony - The Song Of Akhenaten / The Water And The Fire - Davies, Meredith REAM1125 2016-05-13 89 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar