Peterkin, Norman - The Songs of Norman Peterkin - Charlotte de, Rothschild

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Norman Peterkin had been known in two roles: as a “grandad” figure for the Music Department of Oxford University Press and as the composer of the song, “I heard a piper piping”. To begin with his own compositions were written in a style similar to that of Grieg, but he was open to all the contemporary influences in music and literature – to Debussy and Delius and to Yeats and Maeterlinck. Another significant influence was the music of Cyril Scott, whose First Piano Sonata of 1909 made a great impression on the young Peterkin and was to remain a favourite with him. History will give Norman Peterkin an unusual position in the hierarchy of twentieth century British music and musicians. For some of his songs he will be known as a subtle, imaginative composer of considerable distinction. As a publisher he will always be associated with Hubert Foss, but as one who was known as a poet in music and a musician in publishing he will have a niche all his own. [Alastair Chisholm]
Artikelnummer SRCD362
Streckkod 5020926036223
Utgivningsdatum 2017-05-05
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Lyrita
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Charlotte de, Rothschild
Kompositörer Peterkin, Norman
Disk: 1
1 The Fidil Is Singing
2 The Song Of Fionula
3 Five Poems From The Japanese
4 All Suddenly The Wind Comes Soft
5 Pierrette In Memory
6 O Men From The Fields
7 The Garden Of Bamboos
8 Advice To Girls
9 Never More, Sailor
10 Little Red Hen - Irish Folk Tale
11 A Little Wind Came Blowing - An Irish Air
12 Sleep White Love
13 The Chaste Wife's Reply
14 Hours Of Idleness
15 I Wish And I Wish
16 The Song Of The Secret
17 The Fiddler
18 If I Be Living In Eirinn
19 Dubbuldideery 'The Monkeys' Journey Song
20 Song Of The Water Maiden
21 So We'll Go No More A-Roving
22 I Heard A Piper Piping
23 Rune Of The Burden Of The Tide
24 The Bee's Song
25 The Tide Rises, The Tide Falls
26 Beata Solitudo
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Songs of Norman Peterkin, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Scott, Cyril - The Songs of Cyril Scott - Charlotte de, Rothschild
289 kr
British Symphonies (4 CD) - Various
229 kr
Bantock, Granville - Omar Khayyám (4 CD) - Mar, Norman Del
159 kr
Butterworth, Arthur - Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 & 4 - Thomson, Bryden
Rubbra, Edmund - Complete Chamber Music & Songs With Harp - Chadwell, Tracey SRCD353 2016-05-27 159 kr
Cooke, Arnold - Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 REAM1123 2016-05-27 89 kr
Symphony No. 5 / The Vision Of Judgement - Davis, Colin REAM1124 2016-05-27 89 kr
Piano Concerto No. 1 / The Bermudas / Cantos - Kitchin, Margaret REAM1126 2016-05-27 89 kr
Wordsworth, William - Symphony Nos. 1 & 5 - Loughran, James REAM1121 2016-05-13 89 kr
Milner, Anthony - The Song Of Akhenaten / The Water And The Fire - Davies, Meredith REAM1125 2016-05-13 89 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar