Schumann, Robert - The Symphonies & Overtures (3 SACD) - Dausgaard, Thomas

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
During their long collaboration (1997 - 2019) Thomas Dausgaard and the Swedish Chamber Orchestra developed a project they named ‘Opening Doors’, performing orchestral works from the Romantic era with the smaller-than-usual forces of a chamber orchestra. Due to the often revelatory results of this approach, the team went on to present at concerts around the world and on several recordings. This box set brings together an important chapter of the project: Robert Schumann’s orchestral music, symphonies as well as overtures. In addition to his four symphonies - including both versions of No. 4 - this collection presents the Zwickau Symphony, an early, unfinished work from 1832-33, as well as a divertimento-like sequence of movements, Overture, Scherzo and Finale. Of the six overtures included in the set some are well-known, like the overture to Genoveva, Schumann’s only opera, and the Manfred Overture which Clara Schumann regarded as ‘one of the most poetic and most gripping of Robert’s pieces’. Other, less often heard works will constitute pleasant discoveries. The three albums included in the set were greeted with critical acclaim on their individual releases, earning distinctions in magazines such as Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine and Fono Forum. Summing up the cycle, the reviewer in Fanfare described it as ‘close to being the most thrilling Schumann symphony series on the market, with sawing violins smoking down to the bridge and timpani-like rifle shots.’
Artikelnummer BIS2669
Streckkod 7318599926698
Utgivningsdatum 2023-01-06
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 3
Dirigenter Dausgaard, Thomas
Kompositörer Schumann, Robert
Orkestrar Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Disk: 1
Symphony No.1 in B flat major, Op. 38, ‘spring Sym
1 I. Andante un poco maestoso - Allegro molto vivace
2 Ii. Larghetto -
3 Iii. Scherzo. Molto vivace
4 Iv. Allegro animato e grazioso
5 Overture to Schiller's Braut von Messina, Op. 100
6 Overture to the opera Genoveva, Op. 81
7 Zwickau Symphony in G minor
Symphony No.1 in B flat major, Op. 38, ‘spring Sym
8 I. Overture. Andante con moto – Allegro
9 Ii. Scherzo. Vivo
10 Iii. Finale. Allegro molto vivace
Disk: 2
Symphony No.2 in C major, Op. 61
1 I. Sostenuto assai - Allegro, ma non troppo
2 Ii. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
3 Iii. Adagio espressivo
4 Iv. Allegro molto vivace
5 Overture to ‘scenes from Goethe's Faust'
6 Julius Caesar, overture, Op. 128
Symphony No.2 in C major, Op. 61
7 I. Andante con moto - Allegro di molto
8 Ii. Romanza. Andante
9 Iii. Scherzo. Presto
10 Iv. Largo - Finale. Allegro vivace
Disk: 3
Symphony No.3 in E flat major, Op. 3, ‘rhenish’
1 I. Lebhaft
2 Ii. Scherzo. Sehr mässig
3 Iii. Nicht schnell
4 Iv. Feierlich
5 V. Lebhaft
6 Overture to Manfred, Op. 115
7 Hermann und Dorothea, overture, Op. 126
Symphony No.3 in E flat major, Op. 3, ‘rhenish’
8 I. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft -
9 Ii. Romanze. Ziemlich langsam -
10 Iii. Scherzo. Lebhaft -
11 Iv. Langsam - Lebhaft
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Symphonies & Overtures (3 SACD), berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Various - Synergy - Sharon Bezaly & Friends - Bezaly, Sharon
369 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Orchestral Works (4 SACD) - Dausgaard, Thomas
169 kr
Mendelssohn, Felix - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 - Dausgaard, Thomas
559 kr
Bach, J S - The Brandenburg Project (3CD) - Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 4; Tragic Overture; Hungarian Dances - Dausgaard, Thomas BIS2383 2020-08-07 169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 3; Alt Rhapsody - Dausgaard, Thomas BIS2319 2018-08-17 169 kr
Brahms, Johannes - Symphony No. 2; Haydn Variations; Academic Festival Overture BIS2253 2017-12-15 169 kr
Schumann, Robert - Symphonies Nos. 2 & 4 - Dausgaard, Thomas (conductor) BISSACD1519 2007-01-08 169 kr
Schumann, Robert - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4 BIS394 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Schumann, Robert - Symphony No. 2; Carnaval; Album fur die Jugend BIS1055 1999-10-18 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar