Pepusch, J C - The Taste of This Nation - Pepsuch, Corbett, & Shuttleworth - Hendrick, Ciara

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Period ensemble Spiritato’s Delphian debut transports us back to a decisive juncture in the history of English music. The Taste of this Nation is a picture of the rapid arrival and astonishing success of Italian styles, genres and indeed musicians in London in the early 1700s, showing that a vibrant, cosmopolitan scene had arisen in the capital even before the arrival of Handel on British shores in 1710. One of the prime instigators of the Italianate tendency was in fact an immigrant from Prussia. Johann Christoph Pepusch composed for the Italian soprano Margarita de L’Epine (also based in London) what can be regarded as the first English cantatas in the Italian style. Spiritato are joined by mezzo Ciara Hendrick, on dazzling vocal form in four of these works, while the vigor and precision of the ensemble’s playing – led by violinist Kinga Ujszaszi – comes to the fore in instrumental works by two native Englishmen which again evidence Italian connections. Obadiah Shuttleworth’s concerti grossi are inventive reimaginings of violin sonatas by Corelli, and William Corbett’s infectious Bizarrie Universali show how a composer who had spent extensive time on the Continent could trade on his Italian connections to win favor with audiences in his native land.
Artikelnummer DCD34236
Streckkod 0801918342363
Utgivningsdatum 2021-02-12
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Delphian
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Hendrick, Ciara
Suni, Tuomo
Kompositörer Pepusch, J C
Corbett, William
Shuttleworth, Obadiah
Disk: 1
Le Bizarrie Universali: Alla Bolognese
1 Allegro
2 Aria cantabile
3 Presto - Allegro assai
4 Affetuoso: Kindly fate at length release me
5 Recitative: Thus to his Lyre the drooping Swain
6 Allegro: Rouse, rouse, rouse
7 Grave
8 Adagio
9 Allegro
10 Adagio
11 Allegro
12 Allegro
13 Adagio
14 Allegro
15 Largo: Fragrant Flora
16 Recitative: Thus on a fruitful I Hill
17 Aria: Love and Pleasures gaily flowing
18 Adagio
19 Allegro
20 Adagio
21 Vivace
22 Allegro
23 Recitative: Airy Cloe proud and young
24 Aria Mvace): Leave me
25 Recitative: Amintor, fir'd by this Disdain
26 Allegro: Shepherd this I've done to prove thee
27 Adagio
28 Largo
29 Vivace (Pastorale)
30 Allegro
31 Recitative: While pale Britannia pensive sate
32 Largo: How long, unhappy Isle
33 Recitative: She sigh'd and would have farther said
34 Allegro: No more Britannia, sigh no more
35 Allegro
36 Largo andante
37 Allegro
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The Taste of This Nation - Pepsuch, Corbett, & Shuttleworth, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


189 kr
Wilde, David - The Cellist of Sarajevo: Chamber Music by David Wilde
189 kr
Corkin, Sam - Drop Down, Ye Heavens
159 kr
Pepusch, J C - Venus and Adonis - The Harmonious Society of Tickle-Fiddle Gentlemen
189 kr
Songs & Lullabies - Irvine, Robert
Dragon Voices - Kenny, John DCD34183 2016-09-30 189 kr
Stravinsky, Igor - Choral Works - Scottish Chamber Orchestra DCD34164 2016-08-26 189 kr
Schubert, Franz - Der Wanderer - Williams, Roderick DCD34170 2016-08-26 189 kr
Berkeley, Lennox - Stabat Mater - Wordsworth, David DCD34180 2016-07-29 189 kr
MacMillan, James - Since It Was The Day Of Preparation - Sherratt, Brindley DCD34168 2016-06-24 189 kr
Egevad, Åke & Jens / Ensemble Marie Balticum - Ices and Longboats: Ancient Music of Scandinavia DCD34181 2016-06-10 189 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar