Gough, Orlando - The World Encompassed - Simon Callow

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
During his journey to circumnavigate the globe Sir Francis Drake took four viol players with him, who played both for his devotions and to the native peoples around the world that they encountered. Fretwork have commissioned British composer Orlando Gough to recreate this remarkable journey in sound, in a work for viol consort that combines music from 16th century England with the ‘sounds’ that these musicians would have heard and perhaps tried to recreate on their journey – from the rebab and the gamelan to the mesmerising chanting of the Native Americans. The result is a musical narrative of one of the most significant achievements of the English golden age and an evocation of the earliest musical encounters between east and west. This premiere recording is interspersed with narration from The World Encompassed, one of the first literary accounts of the journey, read by Simon Callow.
Artikelnummer SIGCD453
Streckkod 0635212045329
Utgivningsdatum 2017-07-07
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Signum
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 2
Artister Simon Callow
Kompositörer Gough, Orlando
Disk: 1
1 Introduction
2 Leaving Plymouth
3 The Song Called Trumpets
4 Preserve Us O Lord
5 Mogador
6 Berbers
7 In Nomine
8 Nuno de Silva
9 Cape Verde
10 Maio Santiago Fogo
11 Crossing the Atlantic
12 Fortune my Foe
13 Port Desire: Patagonian Indians
14 Berimbau
15 Port Julian
16 In Nomine
17 Terra Incognita
18 The Complaint of a Sinner
Disk: 2
1 De La Court
2 Preserve us Lord
3 Cacafuego
4 The Spanish Main
5 Albion
6 Miwok Indians
7 Crossing the Pacific
8 Ternate
9 Moors
10 Musical Paradise
11 Pavin
12 Java
13 In Nomine
14 Gamelan
15 Rounding the Cape of Good Hope
16 Reaching Plymouth
17 Psalm 100
18 The Song Called Trumpets
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om The World Encompassed, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Piano Concerto No. 1 & Nutcracker Suite - Dariescu, Alexandra
159 kr
Davis, Oliver - Dance - Bateman, Paul
159 kr
Adams, John - Violin Concertos - Waley-Cohen, Tamsin (violin)
159 kr
Music of the Spheres - Tenebrae
Handel, G F - Handel in Italy, Vol. 2 - Cunningham, Bridget SIGCD462 2016-09-09 159 kr
Mozart, W A - Zaide - Page, Ian SIGCD473 2016-09-09 159 kr
Bartók, Béla - The Miraculous Mandarin - Salonen, Esa-Pekka SIGCD466 2016-09-09 159 kr
Tavener, John - Missa Wellensis - Wells Cathedral Choir SIGCD442 2016-07-08 159 kr
Schubert, Franz - Symphony No. 9 - Dohnányi, Christoph von SIGCD461 2016-06-10 159 kr
Armonico Consort - Greensleeves: Folk Music Of The British Isles SIGCD447 2016-05-13 159 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar