Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Two Films

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
Includes two films:
- Tchaikovsky's Women
- Fate

Vladimir Ashkenazy
Cynthia Harvey as Katerina, Juliet, Odette
Mark Silver as Prince Siegfried
Helen Field as Tatyana
Clarry Bartha as Donna Anna
The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra

These two pioneering films will both be shown in the second Christopher Nupen season to be broadcast by the BBC on Friday evenings, starting on 15 January. The series will also include the two Sibelius films and his Schubert film, all available on DVD and distributed by Select. The Tchaikovsky films are unusual in that they do not use actors to represent the composer but are made entirely of Tchaikovsky's own words and music plus the words of a few of his closest companions. The result gives an exceptionally intimate picture of the inner landscape of Tchaikovsky's work and artistic preoccupations. They are essential viewing for Tchaikovsky fans. The first film, Tchaikovsky's Women (70'15"), looks at the women both in his private life and in his early music. Almost all of his best early work was inspired by deep identification with the plight of his suffering young heroines, an identification so complete that it spilled over repeatedly into his personal life with dramatic consequences: on one occasion leading to attempted suicide. This predeliction began, when Tchaikovsky was 24 years old, with Katerina Kabanova in The Storm. It continued in full flood with Juliet in Romeo and Juliet, Francesca da Rimini, Odette in Swan Lake and, above all, Tatyana in Evgeny Onegin. All of these young women make appearances in the film. The second film, Fate (85'35"), looks at Tchaikovsky's strange relationship with Nadezhda von Meck, the most important attachment of in his life, after his mother, while also following his increasing concern with the idea of fate as a controlling influence in his own life and as a motivating force in his later symphonies. What he did not know, despite all his concern and forebodings, was that fate would overtake him, at the age of 53, more tragically than even Tchaikovsky could have foreseen.

Format: NTSC
Picture format: 4:3
Sound: Dolby Digital, 2.0 stereo
Running time: 2 hours 36 mins

Artikelnummer A10CND
Streckkod 0814446010062
Utgivningsdatum 2009-11-23
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Christopher Nupen Films (The)
Enhet DVD
Antal enheter 1
Kompositörer Tchaikovsky, Pyotr
Disk: 1
Tchaikovsky's Women
1 Tchaikovsky's Women
2 Fate
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Two Films, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


299 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Anastasia (DVD) - Hewett, Simon
299 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - The Nutcracker (DVD) - New York City Ballet
109 kr
A Musical Journey: Russia / Ukraine - - Tchaikovsky, Pyotr
109 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - A Musical Journey: Russia
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - A Musical Journey: Russia / Ukraine 2110290 2012-07-25 109 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Manfred Symphony - Temirkanov, Yuri ICAD5065 2012-02-22 239 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Symphony No. 5 - Leinsdorf, Erich ICAD5059 2012-02-06 239 kr
Ashkenazy, Vladimir - Master Musician A09CND 2008-10-20 99 kr
Sibelius, Jean - Early Years / Maturity and Silence - Ashkenazy, Vladimir A05CND 2006-10-02 299 kr
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr - Trio in A minor - Berezovsky/Makhtin/Kniazev DR2115 2005-08-29 189 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar