Ives, Charles - Variations on America - United States Marine Band

Lägg till önskelista + 119 kr - Ej i lager



Charles Ives, like his elder contemporary John Philip Sousa, was born and raised amid military quicksteps and medleys of patriotic songs. Both became skilled professional musicians in their early teens, yet while Sousa held steadfastly to the regularity of America’s military pulse, Ives began to blaze the trail toward a uniquely American music. Beginning with the remarkable Variations on ‘America’, described by Ives as “but a boy’s work, partly serious and partly in fun”, all of the works heard on this disc are to a greater or lesser degree transcriptions or adaptations for the modern American concert band.

United States Marine Band/Colonel Timothy W. Foley
Charles Ives

1. Variations on America

2. Overture and March 1776

3. They are there!

Old Home Days Suite (arr. Elkus)

4. I. Waltz

5. II. The Opera House. III. Old Home Day

6. IV. The Collection

7. V. Slow March

8. VI. Burlesque Harmonization of London Bridge, "London Bridge Is Fallen Down"

9. March Intercollegiate with Annie Lisle

10. Fugue in C minor (arr. of String Quartet No. 1, "From the Salvation Army": I. Chorale)

11. March in F major and C major with Omega Lambda Chi

12. Variations on Jerusalem the Golden, "Fantasia on Jerusalem the Golden"

13. A Son of a Gambolier, March

14. Postlude in F major

15. Country Band March

16. A Symphony - New England Holidays (Holidays Symphony): II. Decoration Day

17. The Other Side of Pioneering: III. Charlie Rutlage

18. The Circus Band, March

19. Runaway Horse on Main Street

20. March No. 6 with Here's to Good Old Yale

21. Piano Sonata No. 2, "Concord, Mass., 1840 - 60": III. The Alcotts
Artikelnummer 8570559
Streckkod 0747313055975
Utgivningsdatum 2007-09-24
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister United States Marine Band
Dirigenter Foley, Colonel Timothy W.
Kompositörer Ives, Charles
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Variations on America, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


60 kr (119 kr)
Ives, Charles - Fourth of July / Decoration Day / Thanksgiving - Malmö Symphony Orchestra
60 kr (119 kr)
Ives, Charles - Three Orchestral Sets - Malmö Symphony Orchestra
120 kr (239 kr)
Wagner, Richard - Siegfried (4 CD) - Zagrosek, Lothar (conductor)
60 kr (119 kr)
Liszt, Franz - Symphonic Poems Vol 4: Hungaria / Héroïde funèbre / Le Troimphe funèbre de Tasse - Halász, Michael (conductor)
Tabakov, Emil - Piano Concerto / Concerto for Two Flutes - Gallois, Patrick (flute) 8570073 2007-01-22 60 kr (119 kr)
Tchaikovsky, Boris - Symphony No. 1 / The Murming Forest / After the Ball 8570195 2007-01-22 119 kr
Ives, Charles - Chamber Music - Continuum 8559194 2005-04-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Ives, Charles - Symphony No. 1 / Emerson Concerto - National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland 8559175 2003-12-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Ives, Charles - Symphony No. 3 - Northern Sinfonia 8559087 2003-03-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Ives, Charles - Symphony No. 2 / Robert Browning Overture - Nashville Symphony Orchestra 8559076 2000-08-02 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar