Passion des Cuivres - Victorian Christmas for Brass

Lägg till önskelista + 169 kr - Utgången

Constanze Backes, soprano
Passion des Cuivres

The wind quintet Passion de Cuivres was formed in 2003 and has already been praised by Nikolaus Harnoncourt for its authentic use of period instruments in reviving this 200-year-old tradition of performing chamber music written for brass ensembles. In general, the music-making of Passion des Cuivres is marked by lighter timbres than those produced by modern instruments.The sound spectrum of the present CD is further extended by the soprano Constanze Backes and by the bells of St Andrew's Church, Sonning near Reading, which have been cast over a period of three centuries, their sounds guaranteeing an atmospheric beginning and end to this musical journey.

In addition to traditional carols by William Sandys (1792-1874), Lewis Henry Redner (1830-1908) and Lowell Mason (1792-1872), justice is done to the high standards of amateur groups in the 19th century by including arrangements of Baroque and Romantic choral numbers by composers as diverse as Purcell, Handel and Mendelssohn. In addition to cornets, horns and trombones, the listener will even hear an ophicleide, a kind of bass horn that was a forerunner of the euphonium.

These spirited and frequently refreshingly witty arrangements of popular and - at least outside the UK - less well-known pieces of music are designed, therefore, to warm the cockles of hearts depressed by the thought of Christmas.
Artikelnummer C689061
Streckkod 4011790689128
Utgivningsdatum 2006-11-21
Kategori Blåsensemble
Skivbolag Orfeo
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Passion des Cuivres
Disk: 1
1 Sullivan - Bells of St Andrew's Church; Christmas 3'19
2 Sullivan - Hearken Unto Me, My People 5'47
3 Gauntlett - Once in Royal David's City 2'48
4 Sandys - God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen 1'51
5 Mendelssohn - Hark the Herald Angels Sing (Lobgesa 2'33
6 Händel - Sinfony (Messiah) 3'43
7 Händel - He Shall Feed His Flock (Messiah) 4'34
8 Händel - O Ruddier Than the Cherry (Acis and Galat 4'32
9 Redner - O Little Town of Betlehem 2'25
10 Wade - O Come All Ye Faithful 2'22
11 Leontovych - The Carol of the Bells 1'31
12 Purcell - Evening Hymn 3'46
13 Adam - O Holy Night 3'45
14 Sullivan - It Came Upon the Midnight Clear 3'30
15 Mason - Joy to the World 1'24
16 Anonymus - The Coventry Carol 2'43
17 Holst - In the Bleak Midwinter 3'04
18 Anonymus - O Come, O Come Emmanuel 1'46
19 Cornelius - The Three Kings 3'35
20 Sullivan - Care is All Fiddle-De-Dee 1'45
21 Sullivan - Christmas Bells at Sea; Bells of St And 3'39
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Victorian Christmas for Brass, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Hummel, J N - Septets - Consortium Classicum
169 kr
Schumann, Robert - Violin Concerto - Skride, Baiba (violin)
169 kr
Kozeluch, Leopold - Divertimenti - Consortium Classicum
169 kr
Spohr, Louis - Quintet / Octet - Consortium Classicum
Lachner, Franz - Septet / Nonet - Consortium Classicum C382951 1995-03-08 169 kr
Quartets - Consortium Classicum C322941 1994-01-03 169 kr
Pfitzner, Hans - Quintet / Sextet - Consortium Classicum C281931 1993-09-07 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Mozart, W A - Così fan tutte (arranged for wind ensemble) - Bläser der Berliner Philharmoniker C260931 1993-02-02 169 kr
Reicha, Anton - Octet - Consortium Classicum C282921 1992-10-14 169 kr
Mozart, W A - Le nozze di Figaro (arranged for wind ensemble) - Bläser der Berliner Philharmoniker C238911 1991-05-31 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar