Rautavaara, Einojuhani - Vigilia - Helsinki Chamber Choir

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
In 1971, Einojuhani Rautavaara was asked to compose a Finnish Orthodox church service, an all-night vigil similar to that of Rachmaninov, comprising Vespers as well as Matins. Soon after the first performance he reshaped the music into what we now know as Vigilia, a concert version forming a musical whole. As his inspiration, Rautavaara has himself described a visit to the Valamo monastery in the middle of Lake Ladoga in 1939: ‘The bells began to ring, low-pitched booms and higher, shrill clinks: the world was filled with sounds and colours…’ The music is marked by dark colours, the heady smell of incense and the crepuscular church lit only by small candles. Divided into two parts, Vespers and Matins, the 70-minute work consists of 34 sections, and features prominent parts for a bass and a tenor soloist, as well as a number of solo voices emerging from the mixed choir. The work is enriched by the constantly changing combinations of choir and soloists, the perspective shifting from the personal to the universal. It is here performed by the 21-strong Helsinki Chamber Choir, under its artistic director Nils Schweckendiek – a team that has made several recordings for BIS in recent years. These include Riemuitkaamme!, a Christmas disc (‘Schweckendiek’s immaculately blended singers make a glorious noise’, The Arts Desk), as well as a two-disc survey of the choral works of Finnish modernist Erik Bergman (‘The Helsinki choir produces a radiant sound throughout’, Choir & Organ).
Artikelnummer BIS2422
Streckkod 7318599924229
Utgivningsdatum 2019-09-06
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Helsinki Chamber Choir
Chorell, Niall
Haapaniemi, Tuukka
Dirigenter Schweckendiek, Nils
Kompositörer Rautavaara, Einojuhani
Disk: 1
1 Tulkaa, kumartakaamme - O come, let us worship God
2 Alkupsalmi / Psalm 103
3 1. Katisma / 1st Katisma
4 Avuksihuutopsalmi / Psalm of Invocation
5 Avuksihuutostikiira / Sticheron of Invocation
6 Dogmistikiira Jumalansynnyttäjälle / Sticheron to
7 Ehtoohymni / Evening Hymn
8 Hartauden ektenia / Ekteniya
9 Litanian stikiira / Sticheron of the Litany
10 Litanian ektenia / Ekteniya of the Litany
11 Virrelmästikiira / Sticheron
12 Tropari I (Troparion I)
13 Juhlapäivän tropari / Troparion of the Feast
14 Loppusiunaus / Final Blessing
15 Kunnia olkoon pyhälle / Glory to the Holy consubst
16 Tropari II (Troparion II)
17 Tropari III (Troparion III)
18 Ylistysveisu / Hymn of Praise
19 Ylösnousemustropari / Troparion of the Resurrectio
20 Antifoni / Antiphon
21 Prokimeni / Prokeimenon
22 Ylösnousemusveisu / Hymn of the Resurrection
23 Kanoni: 1. Irmossi / Canon: 1st Irmos
24 3. Irmossi / 3rd Irmos
25 4. Irmossi / 4th Irmos
26 5. Irmossi / 5th Irmos
27 6. Irmossi / 6th Irmos
28 7. Irmossi / 7th Irmos
29 8. Irmossi / 8th Irmos
30 Katabasi: Jumalansynnyttäjän kiitosvirsi (Katabasi
31 9. Irmossi / 9th Irmos
32 Kiitosstikiira / Sticheron of Thanksgiving
33 Ylösnousemustropari / Troparion of the Resurrectio
34 Loppusiunaus / Final Blessing
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Vigilia, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Pärt, Arvo - Passio - Helsinki Chamber Choir
169 kr
Grieg, Edvard - Nordic Rhapsody - Dalene, Johan
169 kr
Freeman, Alex - Under the Arching Heavens - A Requiem - Helsinki Chamber Choir
169 kr
Haapanen, Perttu - Reports – choral works - Helsinki Chamber Choir
Kevät kerran on koittava – Spring will come - Helsingin kamarikuoro - Various BIS2442 2018-11-09 169 kr
Rautavaara, Einojuhani - Symphony No. 8 / Violin Concerto - Kuusisto, Pekka BIS1315 2004-05-31 169 kr
Rautavaara, Einojuhani - Symphony No 7 (Angel of Light) / Cantus Arcticus / Flute Concerto - Alanko, Petri (flute) BIS1038 1999-08-01 169 kr
Rautavaara, Einojuhani - Angel of Dusk / Symphony No 2 / Finnish Myth / Fiddlers (Pelimannit) - Tapiola Sinfonietta BIS910 1998-03-25 169 kr
Rautavaara, Einojuhani - Flute Concertos by Rautavaara, Sallinen, Bashmakov & Marttinen BIS687 1997-03-15 169 kr
Rautavaara, Einojuhani - String Quartet No 4 / Fiddlers (Pelimannit) / Lapsimessu / Monologues and Serenades of the Unicorn BIS066 1996-01-01 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar