Clarke, Rebecca - Viola Sonata / Dumka / Chinese Puzzle - Dukes, Philip (viola)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar

• Rebecca Clarke was, by profession, a viola-player and enjoyed a successful early career in England. She wrote in particular for her own instrument, and interest in her work has grown, after earlier neglect, especially during the last thirty years.

• Her compositions, some twenty in number, belong to the years before 1941, after which she wrote no more. Born and trained in England but of partly American parentage, she found herself in the United States at the beginning of the war and settled there, marrying and making her home in America for the rest of her long life.

• The viola player on this recording is Philip Dukes, who in 1995 won the coveted European Rising Stars Award which led to recitals throughout Europe. The clarinettist Robert Plane has won much critical acclaim for his Naxos recordings: “Robert Plane’s irreproachably alert and stylish account… leaves a delightful impression. Plane’s timbre could hardly be more alluring.” Gramophone on Bax Clarinet Sonatas (8.557698)

• Classics Today referred to Rebecca Clarke as “a capable and at times very inventive composer”

Philip Dukes, viola; Sophia Rahman, piano;

Daniel Hope, violin; Robert Plane, clarinet

Rebecca Clarke

Viola Sonata

1. I. Impetuoso

2. II. Vivace

3. III. Adagio

4. Passacaglia

5. Lullaby

6. Lullaby on an Ancient Irish Tune

7. Morpheus

8. Chinese Puzzle

9. I'll bid my heart be still

10. Untitled Piece for Viola and Piano

11. Dumka

Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale

12. Prelude

13. Allegro

14. Pastorale
Artikelnummer 8557934
Streckkod 0747313293421
Utgivningsdatum 2007-01-22
Kategori Viola
Skivbolag Naxos
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Dukes, Philip (viola)
Kompositörer Clarke, Rebecca
Disk: 1
Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale
1 I. Impetuoso
2 II. Vivace
3 III. Adagio
4 Passacaglia
5 Lullaby
6 Lullaby on an Ancient Irish Tune
7 Morpheus
8 Chinese Puzzle
9 I'll bid my heart be still
10 Untitled Piece for Viola and Piano
11 Dumka
12 Prelude
13 Allegro
14 Pastorale
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Viola Sonata / Dumka / Chinese Puzzle, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


60 kr (119 kr)
Berlioz / Liszt / Roger - Harold en Italie (transcr. Liszt) - Dukes, Philip (viola)
60 kr (119 kr)
Fedotov, Igor (viola) - Soviet Russian Viola Music (Kryukov / Vasilenko / Krein)
35 kr (69 kr)
Chase, Roger - Virtuoso Viola, The (Enescu / Vieuxtemps / Paganini / Jongen / Kreisler)
60 kr (119 kr)
Magyar, Eniko (viola) - English Viola, The (Bliss / Delius / Bridge)
Rózsa, Miklós - Viola Concerto / Hungarian Sketches - Karni, Gilad (viola) 8570925 2008-12-15 60 kr (119 kr)
Bax, Arnold - Viola Sonata / Legend / Trio in one movement / Concert Piece - Ostram, Martin (viola) 8557784 2006-12-27 60 kr (119 kr)
Fuchs, Lillian - Complete Music for Viola (2 CD) - Mallow, Jeanne 8557932-33 2006-09-01 110 kr (219 kr)
Primrose, William - Viola Transcriptions - Díaz, Roberto 8557391 2006-08-01 60 kr (119 kr)
Art of the Viola (Beethoven / Schumann / Händel / Britten) - Koll, Heinrich 8557606 2004-11-01 35 kr (69 kr)
Shostakovich, Dmitry - Viola Sonatas - Bartholdy, Annette 8557231 2004-04-01 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar