Handel, G F - Water Music - Consort Of London

Lägg till önskelista + 69 kr - Ej i lager

"The tempos seem fitting and comfortable... the playing of both strings and wind is crisp, spirited and, where called for, full-toned but not overly so-the strings keep plumminess at arm's length; the harpsichord is reduced to a distant tinkle, as it probably was on that summer night in 1717. In terms of style it is admirable, with sharply pointed dotted rhythms, occasional inegales, and some graceful embellishment of the oboe soloist's line in the Adagio e staccato of the Suite in F. In all respects this is the best middle-ofthe- road recording of this music to date." (Gramophone)

The Water Music is justifiably among the most popular of Baroque orchestral works, for its many excellent tunes, lively dances and good humour: perfectly suited to its original, Royal commission - al fresco entertainment to accompany King George I on a barge journey down the river Thames in March 1717. Handel had moved permanently to the UK in 1712, and he and King George had been acquainted since the young composer had been appointed Kapellmeister to the King's court in Hanover at the fairly prodigious age of 25. He was, by now, thoroughly assimilated (despite his indifferent command of the English language) and exactly attuned to the needs of a commission and a particular audience: in this case, memorable melodies, deft and varied instrumentation and an outgoing character, tempered occasionally by a stately dance with a touch of wistfulness.

These performances have been out of the catalogue for several years, and make a welcome return. The Consort of London was a small and expert chamber ensemble, playing Baroque music on modern instruments.

Artikelnummer 93779
Streckkod 5028421937793
Utgivningsdatum 2011-10-26
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Brilliant Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Consort Of London
Dirigenter Clark, Robert Haydon
Kompositörer Handel, G F
Disk: 1
1 Suite No. 1: I. Overture 05:30
2 Suite No. 1: II. Andante e staccato 01:43
3 Suite No. 1: III. Allegro 07:15
4 Suite No. 1: IV. Presto 03:57
5 Suite No. 1: V. Air 02:58
6 Suite No. 1: VI. Minuet 03:01
7 Suite No. 1: VII. Bourrée 02:13
8 Suite No. 1: VIII. Hornpipe 02:33
9 Suite No. 1: IX. Andante 02:47
10 Suite No. 1: X. Overture 04:27
11 Suite No. 1: XI. Alla hornpipe 04:39
12 Suite No. 2: I. Minuet 02:24
13 Suite No. 2: II. Presto 02:33
14 Suite No. 2: III. Minuet 01:02
15 Suite No. 2: IV. Bourrée 02:07
16 Suite No. 2: V. Country Dance 01:44
17 Trumpet Suite No. 3: I. Allegro 02:11
18 Trumpet Suite No. 3: II. Alla hornpipe 04:22
19 Trumpet Suite No. 3: III. Trumpet minuet 02:26
20 Trumpet Suite No. 3: IV. Lentement 01:20
21 Trumpet Suite No. 3: V. ‘This aire to be play’d th 01:33
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Water Music, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


449 kr
Handel, G F - Handel in Italy: Cantatas, Arias & Serenata (14 CD)
629 kr (1.049 kr)
Handel, G F - 65CD-BOX: Handel Edition
89 kr
Bach, J S - Complete Orchestral Suites - Consort Of London
119 kr
Handel, G F - Complete Cantatas, Vol. 4
Handel, G F - 2CD+DVD-BOX: Messiah - Cleobury, Stephen 94127 2011-10-26 129 kr
Handel, G F - Complete Cantatas, Vol. 3 - Vitale, Marco 94230 2011-08-03 119 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - 40CD-BOX: A Handel Portrait 94214 2011-04-03 749 kr
Handel, G F - Messiah - Various Artists 93948 2011-01-03 129 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Handel, G F - Messiah Highlights - Cleobury, Stephen 93270 2011-01-03 119 kr
Handel, G F - The Recorder Sonatas - Bosgraaf, Erik / Corti, Francesco 93792 2011-01-03 119 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar