Bernstein, Leonard - West Side Story - Masin, Gwendolyn

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
The GAIA Music Festival takes place annually in Oberhofen in Switzerland. The brainchild of violinist Gwendolyn Masin, the Festival is named after the Greek goddess of the Earth, and in just a few years has grown into a thriving and captivating series of events. Concerts from the Festival have been recorded in collaboration with Orchid Classics, capturing the energy and spontaneity of these special live performances. This recording is of Leonard Bernstein’s seminal musical, West Side Story, in a unique arrangement for violin and saxophone quartet made by composer-conductor Henk Huizinga, performed by Gwendolyn Masin and the Melisma Saxophone Quartet. The unusual combination of instruments works superbly: the violin line soars, often taking the main vocal melody, while the winds show their versatility with sonorities ranging from earthy to delicate. The movement order reflects the story arc of West Side Story while creating contrast between lighter and darker numbers, including ‘Somewhere’, ‘Tonight’, ‘Gee, Officer Krupke’ and ‘America’.
Artikelnummer ORC100145
Streckkod 5060189561452
Utgivningsdatum 2020-11-06
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Orchid Classics
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Masin, Gwendolyn
Melisma Saxophone Quartet
Dirigenter Huizinga, Henk
Kompositörer Bernstein, Leonard
Disk: 1
West Side Story
1 Prologue
2 Jet Song
3 Blues
4 Somewhere
5 Procession & Nightmare
6 Scherzo
7 Mambo
8 Cha-cha
9 I Feel Pretty
10 Maria
11 Cool
12 America
13 One Hand, One Heart
14 Gee, Officer Krupke
15 Tonight
16 A Boy Like That
17 I Have A Love
18 The Rumble
19 Finale
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om West Side Story, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Masin, Gwendolyn - Flame - Various
169 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Kaddish / Chichester Psalms / Missa brevis - Slatkin, Leonard
169 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - JEREMIAH / THE AGE OF ANXIETY - Slatkin, Leonard
169 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Kaddish (Symphon No. 3) / Chichester Psalms / Missa brevis - BBC Singers
Bernstein, Leonard - Symfoni nr 3/Chichester Psalms - Schwarz, Gerard 8559456 2006-06-01 89 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Serenade / Facsimile / Divertimento - Alsop, Marin (conductor) 8559245 2005-12-01 89 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Jewish Legacy (A) 8559407 2005-01-01 89 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Symphony No. 1 (Jeremiah) / Concerto for Orchestra Jubilee Games - Judd, James (conductor) 8559100 2004-03-01 89 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Symphony No. 2 / Piano Concerto - Hamelin, Marc-André (piano) CDA67170 2000-10-01 169 kr
Bernstein, Leonard - Piano Music - Achatz, Dag (piano) BIS352 1998-07-25 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar