Various - Windows - Levingston, Bruce (piano)

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
A pianist’s pianist… stunning and highly illuminating performances — AMERICAN RECORD GUIDE. Bruce Levingston is one of today’s celebrated figures in contemporary classical music. The New York Times named his album Heavy Sleep a “Best Classical Recording of the Year” praising his “mastery of color and nuance.” The New Yorker has called him “a force for new music” with “a gift for innovative and glamorous programming.” The title of pianist Bruce Levingston’s haunting new album,Windows, is taken from the beautiful suite by acclaimed American composer James Matheson, heard here in its world premiere recording. This evocative, richly-colored work depicts the exquisite stained glass windows of Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse inspired by ancient imagery and scripture. These works, which reflect a myriad of overlapping artistic influences, led Levingston, an artist known for his cutting-edge programming, to seek out other composers who have been inspired by multiple art forms. Robert Schumann was an immediate choice. His intimate Kinderszenen, a series of distilled little jewels that offer fleeting glimpses of childhood, is paired with the urbane, elegant Arabeske. Distinguished British-American composer David Bruce is also heard here in the premiere recording of his touching work, The Shadow of the Blackbird, inspired by the music of Schumann as well as the moving poetry of Wallace Stevens. It seemed fitting for Levingston to program these three inspired, and inspiring, composers together. Their works, old and new, represent aural windows through which their extraordinary visions may be heard, sensed and felt. Levingston has collaborated with some of the most gifted artists of our era, including painter Chuck Close, composer Philip Glass, authors George Plimpton and Michael Cunningham, actor Ethan Hawke, dancers Alessandra Ferri and Herman Cornejo, Colin and Eric Jacobsen and the Brooklyn Rider, and choreographers Jorma Elo and Russell Maliphant. He has conducted interviews and programs with filmmaker Ken Burns, author Ron Chernow and art historian Robert Storr, and has worked with numerous cultural institutions involving art, dance, film and music including American Ballet Theatre, Boston Ballet, Museum of Modern Art, New York; Whitney Museum of Art; Alliance Française/French Institute; The Aspen Institute and Aspen Music Festival; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and Rooftop Films.
Artikelnummer DSL92218
Streckkod 0053479221827
Utgivningsdatum 2018-01-26
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag Sono Luminus
Enhet CD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Levingston, Bruce (piano)
Kompositörer Various
Disk: 1
1 The Shadow of the Blackbird
2 The Shadow of the Blackbird
3 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
4 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
5 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
6 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
7 Kinderszenen, Op. 19
8 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
9 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
10 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
11 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
12 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
13 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
14 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
15 Kinderszenen, Op. 15
16 Arabeske, Op. 18
17 Windows
18 Windows
19 Windows
20 Windows
21 Windows
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Windows, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


159 kr
Various - Prelude to Dawn - Levingston, Bruce (piano)
159 kr
Occurrence (CD & Bluray Audio) - Kuusisto, Pekka (violin) - Various
159 kr
Levingston, Bruce (piano) - Citizen - Various
189 kr
Beyond (2CD+Blu-ray) - Various
Glass, Philip - Dreaming Awake - Levingston, Bruce (piano) DSL92205 2016-09-30 159 kr
Bavota, Bruno - Out of the Blue - Bavota, Bruno DSL92206 2016-09-30 159 kr
Surrounded by Angels - Ensemble Galilei DSL92210 2016-08-26 159 kr
Bach, J S - Art of Orchestral Transcription (The) CHAN10900 2016-04-29 169 kr
Levingston, Bruce (piano) - Heavy Sleep DSL92183 2014-11-19 159 kr
Björling Collection Vol. 5 - Björling, Jussi (tenor) - Various 8110789INT 2005-04-16 79 kr
Ej i lager
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar