Schubert, Franz - Winterreise - Rutherford, James

Leveranstid: Skickas vanligtvis inom 2-5 dagar
When Franz Schubert in 1827 invited a friend to the first performance of his Winterreise, he called it ‘a cycle of horrifying songs’. The texts that he had chosen to set were by the poet Wilhelm Müller, whose 24 poems form a psychodrama which starts with regret over a lost love but develops into an inner voyage in which a nameless Wanderer probes for answers to existential questions. There is no plot, no events in the external world: instead, we spy on fleeting emotions and thoughts. In setting these poems to music Schubert was confronting his own probable fate: Winterreise was completed the year before his death in 1828, at the age of 31, and he will have known that the syphilis he had contracted in late 1822 often led to insanity and paralysis before release in death. With this in mind, one understands why Schubert himself said that the cycle had cost him ‘more effort than any of my other songs.’ Originally written for tenor voice, the songs are often heard transposed to other vocal ranges. Here the whole cycle is transposed a minor third down, to suit the baritone of James Rutherford. Primarily active as an opera singer – he is a Wagner specialist – Rutherford also enjoys a long-lasting partnership with pianist Eugene Asti. On BIS the two have previously released a recording of Schubert’s Schwanengesang – a release which received top marks from the German website and was described as ‘one of the best recordings of these songs that I’ve heard’ by the reviewer in American Record Guide.
Artikelnummer BIS2410
Streckkod 7318599924106
Utgivningsdatum 2021-11-05
Kategori Klassiskt
Skivbolag BIS
Enhet Hybrid SACD
Antal enheter 1
Artister Rutherford, James
Asti, Eugene
Kompositörer Schubert, Franz
Disk: 1
Winterreise, D 911
1 Gute Nacht (Good Night)
2 Die Wetterfahne (The Weathervane)
3 Gefrorne Tränen (Frozen Tears)
4 Erstarrung (Numbness)
5 Der Lindenbaum (The Linden Tree)
6 Wasserflut (Flood)
7 Auf dem Flusse (On the River)
8 Rückblick (Backward Glance)
9 Irrlicht (Will-o'-the-wisp)
10 Rast (Rest)
11 Frühlingstraum (Dream of Spring)
12 Einsamkeit (Loneliness)
13 Die Post (The Post)
14 Der greise Kopf (The Grey Head)
15 Die Krähe (The Crow)
16 Letzte Hoffnung (Last Hope)
17 Im Dorfe (In the Village)
18 Der stürmische Morgen (The Stormy Morning)
19 Täuschung (Illusion)
20 Der Wegweiser (The Signpost)
21 Das Wirtshaus (The Inn)
22 Mut! (Courage!)
23 Die Nebensonnen (The Mock Suns)
24 Der Leiermann (The Hurdy-gurdy Player)
Skriv din egen recension
Du måste logga in för att kunna skriva en recension
Om du tycker om Winterreise, berätta det gärna för dina vänner! Du kan snabbt och enkelt dela denna sida direkt på Facebook, Twitter och via e-post här nedanför.


169 kr
Schubert, Franz - Music for Violin, Vol. 1 - Daskalakis, Ariadne
169 kr
Sampson, Carolyn - A Soprano’s Schubertiade - Schubert, Franz
169 kr
Schubert, Franz - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 (SACD) - Swedish Chamber Orchestra
169 kr
Schubert, Franz - Operatic Overtures - Huss, Manfred
Schubert, Franz - Piano Trio Op. 100 & Notturno - Trio Latitude 41 EL1129 2011-12-13 159 kr
Schubert, Franz - Complete Chamber Music for Piano and Strings - Veress, Claudio BIS521 2005-04-16 549 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Schubert, Franz - Winterreise - Talvela, Martti (bass) BIS253 2005-04-16 169 kr
Schubert, Franz - Symphonies Nos. 5 & 6 BIS387 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Schubert, Franz - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4; Overture BIS453 2005-04-16 169 kr
Fåtal i lager Köp +
Beethoven, Ludwig van - String Quartets arranged for Orchestra by Mahler - Markiz, Lev (conductor) BIS674 1998-07-25 169 kr
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Mitt konto
Min varukorg: 0 artiklar